Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
paulplusx
Visitor
Visitor

exposed pins for PL I/O on Zedboard

Jump to solution

Hello Everyone,

I am a total noob when it comes to FPGAs and therefore confused about the I/Os available in the Zedboard. I have a few questions:

1. Can HR I/O be understood as I/O coming from the PL side? In that case, are there 200 I/O coming out from PL side (for the CLG484 package)? 

2. Now my question is how many of these I/Os are available to the user in form of mappable physical pins out of the zedboard? I saw a few documents and came to a conclusion that:  On the zedboard we have 68 I/O pins on the FMC and 32 I/O pins via 4 PMODs connectors (8 more pins from another PMOD could be routed via EMIO) and 8 I/O pins (not by default I think, needs some config to convert to IO) from the AMS connector and probably 4 I/O pins from JTAG. So a total 'possibility' of 120 'exposed' I/O pins that can be used simultaneously from all different connectors out of a total of 200 I/O. Am I correct here? 

3.I am also a bit confused about the number of IO pins present in the FMC. As mentioned above (and in the hardware user guide), it says 68 single-ended I/O are available but on page 3 (in the same guide) there is a  picture that shows 82 connections with the PL. I don't understand if it is 68 or 82 I/O pins on the FMC? 

4. Can clock capable pins be used as IO pins?

Thank you.

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
derekm_
Voyager
Voyager

Q1: Yes, 200 High-Range pins in CLG484 Z-7020.

Q2. My count is 114:

(a) 74 FMC pins available.

(b) Four PL Pmods = 32 pins. (The PS Pmod doesn't count if you are talking about programmable logic pins. But you can drive those 8 signals using software.)

(c) 8 AMS signals: 4 XADC-GIOx and 4 XADC-ADx.

Note that the JTAG pins don't count.

Q3: Some references:

https://reference.digilentinc.com/_media/reference/programmable-logic/zedboard/zedboard-schematic-rev-e1-public.pdf