cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Highlighted
Contributor
Contributor
15,411 Views
Registered: ‎11-02-2015

simple GTX tranceiver configuration: Error count Signal

Hi,

 

I changed data in "gt_rom_init_tx.dat" and the same changed data is copied into "gt_rom_init_rx.dat" file and I also made sure that there are enough transitions in changed bytes. I didn't alter the whole data file, I altered one portion of it. Actual data "000000003e3d3c3b0000" and changed it to "00000000060504970000" data in both TX and RX file.

I am expecting no errors but, in simulation I am observing error. Without doing this it's all working fine. Where I am going wrong?

It's written in the UG if needed ".dat" files can be modified by the user.

 

Second problem is  gt0_rxcommadet_i  toggling even for unmodified data where there are no errors. Isn't this signal should remain 1 after comma is detected?

 

Thank you.

vivado2.PNG
0 Kudos
12 Replies
Highlighted
Moderator
Moderator
15,339 Views
Registered: ‎02-16-2010

Re: simple GTX tranceiver configuration: Error count Signal

rxcommadet is not a sticky output. It will be high only for the cycle in which comma character is found.

Do you exactly match tx and rx .dat files? You can go in depth to observe the signals from frame_check module to exactly check the expected data and the received data to confirm your edits are fine.
------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Don't forget to reply, give kudo and accept as solution
------------------------------------------------------------------------------
0 Kudos
Highlighted
Contributor
Contributor
15,321 Views
Registered: ‎11-02-2015

Re: simple GTX tranceiver configuration: Error count Signal

@venkata

 

Yes I did match the data... for example when I rechange it to default data then I don't get any error.

0 Kudos
Highlighted
Contributor
Contributor
15,320 Views
Registered: ‎11-02-2015

Re: simple GTX tranceiver configuration: Error count Signal

I opened these files location and changed the data and saved it. Did I do it correctly?

vivado.PNG
0 Kudos
Highlighted
Contributor
Contributor
15,315 Views
Registered: ‎11-02-2015

Re: simple GTX tranceiver configuration: Error count Signal

For all, I used default GT wizard example and altered "gt_rom_init_tx.dat" and "gt_rom_init_tx.dat" files. But I made sure that both are same.

0 Kudos
Highlighted
Moderator
Moderator
14,982 Views
Registered: ‎02-16-2010

Re: simple GTX tranceiver configuration: Error count Signal

Your approach to edit "gt_rom_init_tx.dat" and "gt_rom_init_rx.dat" files is correct. To understand your observations, check the signals form frame_check module. The error count will increment when the received data is not matching with "gt_rom_init_rx.dat". Check if the sequence is missing synchronization.
------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Don't forget to reply, give kudo and accept as solution
------------------------------------------------------------------------------
0 Kudos
Contributor
Contributor
14,968 Views
Registered: ‎11-02-2015

Re: simple GTX tranceiver configuration: Error count Signal

These are the results for default GT wizard exaple design. I didn't change the ".dat" file, TX and RX are not matched or they are out of synchronous? But this is error free simulation, according to UG, track data goes high.

 

How CDR_lock functions? because, If I change ".dat" file to all zeros, still CDR_lock signal goes high. I am expecting it to go to zero when there are no enough transitions in data.

Tags (1)
vivado6.JPG
0 Kudos
Highlighted
Contributor
Contributor
14,788 Views
Registered: ‎11-02-2015

Re: simple GTX tranceiver configuration: Error count Signal

Hi @venkata

 

Did you find any solution for this problem? Still I am not  able to solve this.

 

regards.

0 Kudos
Highlighted
Moderator
Moderator
14,791 Views
Registered: ‎02-16-2010

Re: simple GTX tranceiver configuration: Error count Signal

Please attach your project with error. I will review and get back.
------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Don't forget to reply, give kudo and accept as solution
------------------------------------------------------------------------------
0 Kudos
Highlighted
Contributor
Contributor
14,785 Views
Registered: ‎11-02-2015

Re: simple GTX tranceiver configuration: Error count Signal

Hi @venkata

 

Do you mean .xpr files? If so, here I have attached "projectencoder_2.xpr" and "gtwizardscrambler_2_example.xpr". The first one is peoject and the later is example design. 

0 Kudos
Highlighted
Moderator
Moderator
12,640 Views
Registered: ‎02-16-2010

Re: simple GTX tranceiver configuration: Error count Signal

with just .xpr files, I cannot reproduce your observations. Please archive your projects and attach them. Both example and after your edits.
------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Don't forget to reply, give kudo and accept as solution
------------------------------------------------------------------------------
0 Kudos
Highlighted
Contributor
Contributor
12,625 Views
Registered: ‎11-02-2015

Re: simple GTX tranceiver configuration: Error count Signal

Hi @venkata

I am unable to attach files in a single folder.so, i am zipping it into two zip folders. while extracting please make sure that destination folder for both the zip files should be same.

0 Kudos
Highlighted
Contributor
Contributor
12,391 Views
Registered: ‎11-02-2015

Re: simple GTX tranceiver configuration: Error count Signal

Hi @venkata

 

Did you find any solution for this problem? Is there a problem with the tool or hardware? or Am I doing simulations wronglly?

 

regards,

shashank

0 Kudos