UPGRADE YOUR BROWSER

We have detected your current browser version is not the latest one. Xilinx.com uses the latest web technologies to bring you the best online experience possible. Please upgrade to a Xilinx.com supported browser:Chrome, Firefox, Internet Explorer 11, Safari. Thank you!

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Visitor fschwa
Visitor

Bugs vanish once debugger is connected

Hi everyone,

I have a strange behaviour in an Artix 7 design. Actually it is not my design and I am not an expert, so please excuse me. The design is basically an LVDS to USB converter. We have a strange bug which leads to some transmitted bytes (USB) being zero although they should not be and we did not find any bug in the code after 3 days of investigation. Our current guess is that it has something todo with the FIFOs used between the different clock domains.

However, the strange thing is, that the bug vanishes once the JTAG debugger is connected (physically and in the hardware manager), which makes debugging quite difficult. Once the debugger has been connected, it can be removed and the bug still does not appear. Only after a re-initialization of the FPGA it is back.

I do not want to go into the design itself as I am not an expert for FPGA stuff. I would like to know if someone experienced something similar or if someone can image what might be happening there. From my understanding, connecting the debugger should not change anything in the behaviour of the FPGA. Or did we miss something? Any help is welcome.

The device is an Artix 7 XC7A15T-2FGG484C on a custom board. Power supply seems to be ok.

0 Kudos
7 Replies
Explorer
Explorer

回复: Bugs vanish once debugger is connected

@fschwa

it may be electrostaic interference or the timing constraint of fpga is not satisied.

0 Kudos
Visitor fschwa
Visitor

Hi,

thanks for the input.

I don't see how enabling the JTAG connection may reduce electro static problems, but I will have a look into that.