UPGRADE YOUR BROWSER

We have detected your current browser version is not the latest one. Xilinx.com uses the latest web technologies to bring you the best online experience possible. Please upgrade to a Xilinx.com supported browser:Chrome, Firefox, Internet Explorer 11, Safari. Thank you!

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Visitor adrianjgp
Visitor

Clock source in KC705 EVM

Hello, everybody.

I'm an electronic engineer student and I've worked with FPGA boards before. Nowadays I'm working on a Kintex-7 KC705 EVM but I am not familiar with differential signaling and I am stucked because I can not correctly configure my clock input although the "static logic" (fixed outputs) work well.

For my test, I'm just programming a LED counter using the GPIO LEDs 4 to 7 and I selected as my input clock the 200MHz System Clock Source SYSCLK. The "Master UCF Listing" in the EVM User's Guide shows that SYSCLK is a LVDS signal.

For my test, I did the following VHDL:

library IEEE;
use IEEE.STD_LOGIC_1164.ALL;
use ieee.numeric_std.all;

library unisim;
use unisim.vcomponents.all;

--
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
--
--
entity blazetest is
    port
    (
        clk_p: in std_logic;
        clk_n: in std_logic;
        led_indic: out std_logic_vector(3 downto 0)
    );
end entity;
--
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
--
-- Start of test architecture
--
architecture Behavioral of blazetest is

signal clk: std_logic;

signal count: std_logic_vector(31 downto 0) := (others => '0');
signal count_led: std_logic_vector(1 downto 0) := (others => '1');
signal clear: std_logic := '0';

begin

IBUFDS_inst : IBUFDS
    generic map (
        DIFF_TERM => TRUE, -- Differential Termination
        IBUF_LOW_PWR => TRUE, -- Low power (TRUE) vs. performance (FALSE) setting for referenced I/O standards
        IOSTANDARD => "DEFAULT")
        port map (