UPGRADE YOUR BROWSER

We have detected your current browser version is not the latest one. Xilinx.com uses the latest web technologies to bring you the best online experience possible. Please upgrade to a Xilinx.com supported browser:Chrome, Firefox, Internet Explorer 11, Safari. Thank you!

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Visitor val_r
Visitor

SDIF-3 Audio Interface - help a newbie

Hi folks!

I'm a newbie, very new to the exciting FPGA-VHDL design world, trying to design an encoder for the SDIF-3 audio coding (a sort of Manchester coding scheme), -code attached-

Signal generated from an external audio ADC board must get encoded by this design.

Simulation actually works just fine.

I'm actually using a Basys3/Artix 7 to experiment, then I'm planning to migrate to a CPLD.

From the official Sony's document, this is what the SDIF3 encoding does:

sdif3v10-2.png

Since the A/D conversion chip already works with an external MCLK, I thought to use it to generate an internally divided

i_clk which is a double-data bit rate, i.e. the 'Clock' signal in the above picture. 

Unfortunately, because of skew (I think), encoding is prone to error.

The following is a scope snap of "data_l" input (ch1, yellow), and the encoded output "out_l" (ch2, blue):

TEK0009.JPG

not quite correct! :(

I did measure the dsd bitclock generated from the ADC board, and the "i_clk" divided DDR clock, which governs the process,

I've measured around 21ns of skew.

The following snap shows i_clk(ch1), and dsdclk (ch2, blue):

TEK0006.JPG

Can this be the cause of uncorrect encoding?

What would be the best way to correct this? Re-sync dsd-data to i_clk? how?

Please see my code attached below.

Any hint/help greatly appreciated!

0 Kudos
2 Replies
Highlighted
Visitor val_r
Visitor

Re: SDIF-3 Audio Interface - help a newbie

Okay, changed little things in my new code (attached):