UPGRADE YOUR BROWSER

We have detected your current browser version is not the latest one. Xilinx.com uses the latest web technologies to bring you the best online experience possible. Please upgrade to a Xilinx.com supported browser:Chrome, Firefox, Internet Explorer 11, Safari. Thank you!

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Observer laurencebarker
Observer

DMA/bridge system on Artix 75: fails timing when compile

Jump to solution

I am a relatively new FPGA designer. I'm using vivado 2018.3 and targeting an Artix device XC7A75TFGG484-1 or XC7A75TFGG484-2. My design has the Xilinx IP "DMA/bridge system for PCIe 4.1".

The project has a constraints file with timing constraints that were created using the timing wizard. There is only one constraints file in the design sources and it has my pin constraints (generated by me through editing the elaborated design) and wizard generated timing constraints. It includes definitions for the 125MHz and 250MHz clocks internal to the PCI express core. 

I have created a design in the Artix 75 with a software defined radio application (clocked at 122.88MHz) and a DMA/Bridge subsystem for PCI express. When I implement the project, I am getting several failures to meet timing constraints internal to the PCIe DMA core. These are in these groups:

intra-clock paths - clk_250mhz_Gen

inter-clock paths:

clk_125mhz to clk_250mhz_Gen

clk_125mhz_Gen to clk_125mhz

(when I ran the timing constraints wizard, it added these clock groups and they are listed in my constraints file: