UPGRADE YOUR BROWSER

We have detected your current browser version is not the latest one. Xilinx.com uses the latest web technologies to bring you the best online experience possible. Please upgrade to a Xilinx.com supported browser:Chrome, Firefox, Internet Explorer 11, Safari. Thank you!

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Contributor
Contributor

Problem in performing DMA data transfer using MSI interrupt in XDMA-MM example design

Hi,

I am new to PCIe and would like to seek help in performing DMA transfer using MSI interrupt in XDMA-MM example design.

I am trying to perform DMA transfer between Virtex-7 Series FPGA board (VC707) and host PC Windows 10 through PCIe, and I want to perform the DMA transfer using MSI interrupt. The software driver that I'm using is the example XDMA software driver from Jungo Connectivity.

Using DMA/Bridge Subsystem for PCI Express v4.1 IP core, I have implemented 2 user interrupts. Then I generated its AXI4-MM Example design with User IRQ Example Design attached to it (pg 100 of pg195-pcie-dma).

Following shows the active address space:

1. Bar 0 (user IRQ registers) - (0x100000 bytes)

2. Bar 1 (PCIe to DMA registers) - (0x10000 bytes)

To allow MSI interrupt to take place, I disabled legacy interrupt by implementing interrupt disable in the PCI command register (write x0507 to the PCI command register (offset: x04 of PCI configuration registers)). Next I made sure that msi enable bit is set to '1' in the MSI control register (offset: x49 of PCI configuration registers) [Data reads x00 81 in MSI control register].

After which, I accessed to Bar 1 (PCIe to DMA registers space) to enable the user interrupt. Following are the actions that take place in the PCIe to DMA registers space:

- set bit 0 to user interrupt enable mask (offset: x2004)

- set bit 0 to engine interrupt enable mask (offset: x2010)