cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Highlighted
Adventurer
Adventurer
671 Views
Registered: ‎07-20-2018

QDMA "Copy PF0" parameter

Jump to solution

Hello everyone,

we are using QDMA IP version 3 with patch AR73179 on Vivado 2019.2, and Xilinx
driver (https://github.com/Xilinx/dma_ip_drivers/tree/master/QDMA/linux-kernel).

During IP configuration we note the parameter "Copy PF0" in "PCIe:BARs" tab.
What is the meaning of that parameter?

Thanks for the help.

1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
Highlighted
Moderator
Moderator
409 Views
Registered: ‎06-29-2011

Hi @dsakjl 

When you select multiple functions in the Capabilities tab and change the Total Physical Function to a value greater than one the Copy PF0 option becomes available and what this does is replicate the configuration of PF0 on to all the other PF's. For example if you look at the screen capture below you will see that the PF0 configurations in replicated on PF1 and PF2 and these are greyed out. If Copy PF0 is not selected you can configure them individually and they are not greyed out and configurable.

copypf0.png

-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Don’t forget to reply, kudo, and accept as solution.
-------------------------------------------------------------------------

Kind regards,
Gareth

View solution in original post

5 Replies
Highlighted
Adventurer
Adventurer
473 Views
Registered: ‎07-20-2018

Hello everyone,

please, can we have support on this?

Thank you.

0 Kudos
Highlighted
Moderator
Moderator
410 Views
Registered: ‎06-29-2011

Hi @dsakjl 

When you select multiple functions in the Capabilities tab and change the Total Physical Function to a value greater than one the Copy PF0 option becomes available and what this does is replicate the configuration of PF0 on to all the other PF's. For example if you look at the screen capture below you will see that the PF0 configurations in replicated on PF1 and PF2 and these are greyed out. If Copy PF0 is not selected you can configure them individually and they are not greyed out and configurable.

copypf0.png

-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Don’t forget to reply, kudo, and accept as solution.
-------------------------------------------------------------------------

Kind regards,
Gareth

View solution in original post

Highlighted
Adventurer
Adventurer
397 Views
Registered: ‎07-20-2018

Hi @garethc ,

thank you for the reply.
We noticed the behavior you described but we would like to know if there are other side effects.
For example, could this choice have an impact on the issue we experimented and described in the following link?

https://forums.xilinx.com/t5/PCIe-and-CPM/QDMA-user-interrupts-on-PF1/td-p/1137113

Please, can you document the "Copy PF0" option in the QDMA IP PG302 official documentation?

Thank you.

0 Kudos
Highlighted
Moderator
Moderator
364 Views
Registered: ‎06-29-2011

Hi @dsakjl 

I will file a CR for the PG213 to be updated to detail Copy PF0 feature and any consideration that need to be considered when it is used.

For the use case that you detailed in the other post with Iris can you bring this up with her and see if this option will effect the behavior.

-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Don’t forget to reply, kudo, and accept as solution.
-------------------------------------------------------------------------

Kind regards,
Gareth
0 Kudos
Highlighted
Adventurer
Adventurer
356 Views
Registered: ‎07-20-2018

Hi,

from our tests it seems that that option does not affect the issue described in:

https://forums.xilinx.com/t5/PCIe-and-CPM/QDMA-user-interrupts-on-PF1/td-p/1137113

Thank you.