Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Highlighted
Visitor
Visitor

QDMA reference design and DMA help for AC701 needed

Hello,

I am new to using the Xilinx DMA - pcie IP and would like some guidance on how to proceed.  I have a task to provide a QDMA - PCIe design for the software engineers to exercise their code.  Since I would like to start from the beginning from PCIe, to how the DMA in PCIe works I have gone through these references for background in this order:

1) How to create a PCI Express design in an ultrascale FPGA video (june 19, 2016)

2) xapp1286 - 7 series fpgasgen2 integrated block for pie to axi4-lite bridge

3) xtp227 - AC701 PCIe Design Creation

4) ug964 - AC701 Base TRD User guide - reading in progress

5) DMA for PCI Express (Sep 3, 2016) - today

Next to read:

5) xapp1171 - PCI Express Endpoint-DMA initiator subsystem

6) PG195 (v4.1) - DMA/Bridge Subsystem for PCI Express v4.1

7) PG302 (v3.0) - QDMA Subsystem for PCI Express v3.0

This is a lot to read to come up to speed on the DMA / PCIe and QDMA.  Is this the correct path or is there a better list of appnotes to read?

Also, I saw in PG302 chapter 6 has these example designs mentioned, but I was not able to find the path to the Vivado project for them.  Would you forward the link for them to me?

Thank you,

Peter

0 Kudos
4 Replies
Highlighted
Visitor
Visitor

I forgot to mention that I am using Vivado 2018.3. 

0 Kudos
Highlighted
Visitor
Visitor

I can't find the qdma ip in the IP catalog of Vivado 2018.3. Do I have to upgrade?
0 Kudos
Highlighted
Explorer
Explorer

QDMA requires ultrascale+.  So you won't be able to use it on Artix 7, you need a different FPGA. 

0 Kudos
Highlighted
Visitor
Visitor

Thank you for the prompt reply.