cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Highlighted
Participant
Participant
713 Views
Registered: ‎05-10-2017

elaborate.do fails when simulating PCIe XDMA Artix 7 Example Design

Hello,

When I try to simulate the Artix 7 XDMA example design for Questa, I get the following error when running "elaborate.do" - 

 # ** Error (suppressible): ../../imports/board.v(112): (vopt-7063) Failed to find 'EXT_PIPE_SIM' in hierarchical name 'board.EP.xdma_0_i.inst.xdma_0_pcie2_to_pcie3_wrapper_i.pcie2_ip_i.inst.inst.EXT_PIPE_SIM'.
# Region: board
# Optimization failed
# End time: 12:36:18 on Nov 22,2019, Elapsed time: 0:00:09
# Errors: 1, Warnings: 0
# ** Error: C:/questasim64_10.7a/win64/vopt failed.

Please help.

Thank you.

Best regards,

Sanjay

 

0 Kudos
9 Replies
Highlighted
Moderator
Moderator
639 Views
Registered: ‎06-29-2011

Hi @shparekh 

Can you clarify some initial questions for me.

  1. What version of the tools is this? e.g. v2019.1, v2019.2?
  2. Is this with the out of the box example design? If not can you use the out of the box example design?
    • What is the results of an out of the box behavoural simulation and running the run all command?
  3. What is the OS? e.g. Windows/Linux? What Linux envorment and version?
  4. Is this Verilog or VHDL? Note that XDMA IP only supports Verilog simulation.
-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Don’t forget to reply, kudo, and accept as solution.
-------------------------------------------------------------------------

Kind regards,
Gareth
0 Kudos
Highlighted
Participant
Participant
628 Views
Registered: ‎05-10-2017

Gareth,

  1. Out of the box example XDMA design.
  2. Using Vivado 2018.3 for windows 10 64 bit. 
  3. Simulation tool - Mentor Questa 10.7a
  4. Verilog only netlist.
  5. Xilinx libraries pre-compiled for Questa 10.7a from Vivado 2018.3.

Thank you for the help.

Best regards,

Sanjay

0 Kudos
Highlighted
Moderator
Moderator
600 Views
Registered: ‎06-29-2011

Hi @shparekh 

I have ran the simulation with the oob example design for the XDMA with the AC701 board with no issues. I am using QuestaSim version 10.6c which is the verified supported version for v2018.3 of Vivado.

You mentioned that you simulate Verilog only netlist. Are you writing out a DCP netlist and simulating that and changing the test bench?

Can you just run the behavioural simulation after the example design opens? What is the results of this?

-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Don’t forget to reply, kudo, and accept as solution.
-------------------------------------------------------------------------

Kind regards,
Gareth
0 Kudos
Highlighted
Participant
Participant
559 Views
Registered: ‎05-10-2017

Gareth,

That may be the issue.  Did you try exporting the simulation for the IP alone?  When I right click the IP and create an example design, I do not target the AC701 board.  It still successfully creates the example design.  Just the simulation doesn't compile.

-sanjay

0 Kudos
Highlighted
Moderator
Moderator
519 Views
Registered: ‎06-29-2011

Hi @shparekh 

I have sent you a private mail as I would like to get a test case to try replicate this. I will update the forum thread with our findings.

-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Don’t forget to reply, kudo, and accept as solution.
-------------------------------------------------------------------------

Kind regards,
Gareth
0 Kudos
Highlighted
Moderator
Moderator
479 Views
Registered: ‎06-29-2011

Hi @shparekh 

Can I ask if you make changes to your example design project? What I have noticed is that even using the GUI flow your prject will not load the design to QuestaSim.

I did the following tests which all passed simulating with GUI flow and with export_simulation and running ./board.sh

1. My own AC701 example desing.
2. Creating an example design with your .xci file

Note I am using our supported QuestaSim v10.6c

I can send you my example design created from your .XCI and you can test this locally. I will send this through the file transfer that we already used for you to send me files.

-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Don’t forget to reply, kudo, and accept as solution.
-------------------------------------------------------------------------

Kind regards,
Gareth
0 Kudos
Highlighted
Moderator
Moderator
374 Views
Registered: ‎06-29-2011

Hi @shparekh 

Do you have an update on this? Have you been able to try with the supported version of QuestaSim v10.6c?

-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Don’t forget to reply, kudo, and accept as solution.
-------------------------------------------------------------------------

Kind regards,
Gareth
0 Kudos
Highlighted
Participant
Participant
349 Views
Registered: ‎05-10-2017

Hi Gareth,

Happy New Year!

i think we can close this.  Basically, the simulation works if I target it to the AC701 dev board.  It doesn’t if we target the ip to our own project.  Don’t know why but that is where things are.  We worked around the problem by reusing the sim env in our project after targeting it to the AC701.

Thank you.

best regards,

sanjay

0 Kudos
Highlighted
Moderator
Moderator
324 Views
Registered: ‎06-29-2011

Hi @shparekh 

Thank you for the update. Can you please mark one of the responses as an accepted solution so that this can be seen as resolved.

-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Don’t forget to reply, kudo, and accept as solution.
-------------------------------------------------------------------------

Kind regards,
Gareth
0 Kudos