cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
adityasatpute
Visitor
Visitor

Area consumption of Microblaze for Area estimation for device selection !!

Jump to solution

Hello ,

I am trying to make a proposal to my manager for device selection & need the area consumption of Microblaze processor. I am unable to locate it on Xilinx right away. I'm a newbie & it's lil time consuming @ data hunting on Xilinx website, if anyone is aware pls revert... you cn also post the link & i'll do the rest.

Aditya

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
goran
Xilinx Employee
Xilinx Employee

Hi,

I think the upper limit is around 2800 LUTs or so for Spartan6.

But then you have maximize everything on MicroBlaze including caches, MMU, branch target, FPU, .......

A typical system is much less than that, I guess around 1400 LUTs depending if you are using area version or performance version.

Göran

View solution in original post

0 Kudos
8 Replies
austin
Scholar
Scholar

a,

What device family?  What version of the tools?  What version of MicroBlaze?

In general, I believe MicroBlaze starts at ~ 300 CLB's and two BRAMs, and goes up from there with options.

Austin Lesea
Principal Engineer
Xilinx San Jose
0 Kudos
adityasatpute
Visitor
Visitor

Device : XC6SLX9-2TQG144.......Spartan6 9 LX  in 144 package

Microblaze v8.30   Xilinx ISE : 14.5

Is there some document which i can refer .. i was unable to locate one on the website, except for this .. 

http://www.xilinx.com/ipcenter/catalog/logicore/docs/microblaze_risc_32bit_proc_final.pdf

0 Kudos
goran
Xilinx Employee
Xilinx Employee

Hi,

MicroBlaze has around 70 configuration parameters and most of them impact area and timing.

So it's your configuration that determines the area and timing.

Don't forgot the area of peripherals and busses, they tend to be larger than MicroBlaze itself.

Göran

0 Kudos
adityasatpute
Visitor
Visitor