cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Highlighted
Contributor
Contributor
1,147 Views
Registered: ‎01-18-2018

Change voltages of ZC706 powerrails does not work ?

Hello everyone,

We are trying to change the voltage of the powerrails on the Zynq boards (ZC702 and ZC706) from PS side. While we succeeded for 702, the 706 board makes huge problems.
It seems that the PMbus commands used for programming another Voltage in one of the five rails of Texas Instruments UCD90120A are exact the same than for the UCD92XXX Devices on ZC702.
So then the only thing left is i2c/smbus. We just took the pmbus_iic.c from the Zynq-7000 AP SoC Low Power Techniques and changed adresses for the UCD9012A controller and the numbering of the powerrails(PAGES) to match the ZC706 Specs.
But that doesn't work. Does anyone managed to change the voltage of the 5 rails on ZC706 and can give a hint how to do that ?
Or does anyone know where to get a working pmbus-library for ZC706?

 

Thanks in advance,

 

peterpan007

0 Kudos
5 Replies
Highlighted
Xilinx Employee
Xilinx Employee
1,126 Views
Registered: ‎08-01-2012

This might be known issue mentioned in https://www.xilinx.com/support/answers/60702.html . Please check and take corresponding  step if that is the case.

 

________________________________________________

Please mark this post as an "Accept as solution" in case if it helped to resolve your query. So that it will help to other forum users to directly refer to the answer.

Give kudos to this post in case if you think the information is useful and reply oriented.

0 Kudos
Highlighted
Newbie
Newbie
1,085 Views
Registered: ‎01-30-2018

We are facing the same issue here:

Board:

ZC706  bought in 2015 (so that the board is not infected with the error you posted.)

 

Description:

1) By using the TI software  "Power Instrument -Fusion Digital Power Designer" to monitor and configure the different power rails, the following happens:

a) Only the VCC1V5 (rail #5) could be successfully configured to lower voltages e.g. 3.2 V and

b) All Other rails do not seem to apply the required voltage, although the memory write access is successfully run

 

2) We also tested a bare metal driver and used ProgramVoltage function of the pmbus.c drivers, and the same behavior was observed.

 

This should be a H.W. bug right?

 

 

 

0 Kudos
Highlighted
Xilinx Employee
Xilinx Employee
1,081 Views
Registered: ‎08-01-2012

@peterpan007

 

Did you problem solved? If yes, please close the thread by clicking on “Accept as Solution” tab for that particular reply posts which were more helpful for you. That will be helpful for other users.

 

If not please follow below steps one by one

 

1) Try to restore Power modules default configuration as per https://www.xilinx.com/support/answers/64890.html 

 

2)If problem exist please check whether the known issue in https://www.xilinx.com/support/answers/60702.html apply to your board. 

 

3) If the above is not true and if still problem exists then follow relevant debug checklist points in the following Answer record  https://www.xilinx.com/support/answers/54013.html 

________________________________________________

Please mark this post as an "Accept as solution" in case if it helped to resolve your query. So that it will help to other forum users to directly refer to the answer.

Give kudos to this post in case if you think the information is useful and reply oriented.

0 Kudos
Highlighted
Xilinx Employee
Xilinx Employee
1,074 Views
Registered: ‎08-01-2012

@baloo_baer

 

If all the points mentioned in the Answer Record matches to your board, then it is Hardware issue.

 

Then verify relevant debug checklist points as per https://www.xilinx.com/support/answers/60702.html. After that also if still problem exist and if your board is under warranty period then you may file Service Request and then file RMA case with the help of your FAE/DFAE. You can get contact details of Xilinx sales representatives from the following link https://www.xilinx.com/about/contact/sales-reps.html. You can get contact details of Xilinx authorised distributors from the following link https://www.xilinx.com/about/contact/authorized-distributors.html

________________________________________________

Please mark this post as an "Accept as solution" in case if it helped to resolve your query. So that it will help to other forum users to directly refer to the answer.

Give kudos to this post in case if you think the information is useful and reply oriented.

0 Kudos
Highlighted
Visitor
Visitor
1,062 Views
Registered: ‎10-17-2016

The ZC706 boards mounts a UCD90120 power controller by Texas Instruments. Unfortunately, this power controller comes with a default configuration that does allow voltage scaling, except for power rail 5. In the following I will explain how to configure the UCD90120 to enable voltage scaling for all the power rails.

 

In order to configure the UCD90120 device is mandatory to:

  1. Install the last version (V7.0.21) of TI Fusion Digital Power Designer on a PC.
  2. Have a TI USB-to-GPIO Interface Adaper

Follow these steps enable voltage scaling on a rail controlled by the UCD90120 device:

 

  1. Connect the PC to the board (ZC706 or PCB):
    1. Turn on the board.
    2. Connect the TI USB-to-GPIO Interface Adaper to the board.
    3. Launch TI Fusion Digital Power Designer. It automatically recognises the UCD90120 and its configuration.
  2. Click on Click to configure device
  3. Click on the Configure option of the particular rail you want to configure
  4. Select the option Active Trim under Margin Mode. Check that the Duty Cycle and Frequency are set to the values: DC=19% and Freq=5MHz.
  1. Click on Write to Hardware.
  1. Repeat steps 3, 4, 5 for each rail you want to configure.
  1. Click on Store RAM to Flash.
  1. Click on Store to NVM and then
  1. Reset the board.
0 Kudos