Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
samwagner
Visitor
Visitor

Corrupted CDMA on BRAM to DDR transfer?

Jump to solution

All, I have a problem that I have been trying to squash for a while and at this point I would appreciate help. (Background: I am an FPGA newbie, so excuse if I misuse some words). Hardware is a ZedBoard Zynq-7000.

As a proof of concept for another project, I have a VHDL module that generates sine waves (2048 samples each) and stores the result in the lower 11 bits of a 32-bit number in a large block BRAM (256K). After each wave is done, an edge interrupt is generated to tell the PS to read the data. The module generates 4096 sine waves and then terminates. 

In the PS, I use an AXI-CDMA connected to an AXI-Bram Controller to transfer the data into DDR using the following code snippet. I then use an edited LWIP echo server to transfer the data to an external PC running a TCP server, which then receives the data.

//initiate a transfer (dest = DDR, src=BRAM, len = #bytes)
int bram2ddr_xfer(int *dest, int *src, int len)
{
	u32 status;
	status=XAxiCdma_SimpleTransfer(&AxiCdmaInstance, (UINTPTR) src, (UINTPTR) dest,  len, NULL, NULL);

while(XAxiCdma_IsBusy(&AxiCdmaInstance)){ } //wait until finished
	return status;
}

For reference, here is how I initialize the CDMA. (I don't know if this is the correct way to do it - polling mode)

// function to setup the axi cdma and flush cache of DDR
int setup_axi_cdma(UINTPTR start_inval, UINTPTR end_inval)
{
	XAxiCdma_Config * CfgPtr;
	//flush cache of addresses in DDR
	Xil_DCacheFlushRange(start_inval, (end_inval - start_inval));

//initialize CDMA
	CfgPtr = XAxiCdma_LookupConfig(DMA_CTRL_DEVICE_ID);
	XAxiCdma_CfgInitialize(&AxiCdmaInstance, CfgPtr,
			CfgPtr->BaseAddress);
	XAxiCdma_Reset(&AxiCdmaInstance);

XAxiCdma_IntrDisable(&AxiCdmaInstance, XAXICDMA_XR_IRQ_ALL_MASK);

xil_printf("AXI CDMA correctly initialized \r\n");
	return 0;
}