cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Visitor
Visitor
11,732 Views
Registered: ‎10-01-2014

Error when debugging MicroBlaze

Jump to solution

Hi.

I'm using SDK tool in a Windows XP environment and an AVNET LXT150T Spartan-6 kit. I compiled a very basic LED set code like this:

 

int main()

{

   init_platform();

 

   XGpio led; // LED declaration

 

   XGpio_Initialize(&led, XPAR_LEDS_DEVICE_ID);

   XGpio_SetDataDirection(&led,0,0);

 

   while(1)

   {

                XGpio_DiscreteWrite(&led,0,0x55);

   }

 

   return 0;

}

 

When I try to debug it the following error message comes:

 

14:28:18 ERROR : Unexpected error while launching program. com.xilinx.sdk.targetmanager.TMException: MicroBlaze is under RESET. Check if the Reset input to MicroBlaze and its Bus Interfaces are connected properly

   UNABLE to STOP MicroBlaze

 

      at com.xilinx.sdk.targetmanager.internal.TM.connectToProcessor(Unknown Source)

      at com.xilinx.sdk.debug.core.XilinxAppLaunchConfigurationDelegate.debugApplication(Unknown Source)

 

Does anyone have a hint?

Thanks so much

Joao

1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
Scholar
Scholar
17,792 Views
Registered: ‎02-27-2008

j,

 

Just what is says:  the processor is being held in reset.  Check the logic signal driving the MicroBlaze RESET pin:  the most common mistake is that it is wired to a pushbutton on your board, and the logic sense of the pushbutton wire is inverted (1= not pushed, 0=pushed).

 

Easy to check, just push and hold the reset button and try starting it again.

 

 

Austin Lesea
Principal Engineer
Xilinx San Jose

View solution in original post

7 Replies
Scholar
Scholar
17,793 Views
Registered: ‎02-27-2008

j,

 

Just what is says:  the processor is being held in reset.  Check the logic signal driving the MicroBlaze RESET pin:  the most common mistake is that it is wired to a pushbutton on your board, and the logic sense of the pushbutton wire is inverted (1= not pushed, 0=pushed).

 

Easy to check, just push and hold the reset button and try starting it again.

 

 

Austin Lesea
Principal Engineer
Xilinx San Jose

View solution in original post

Visitor
Visitor
11,692 Views
Registered: ‎10-01-2014

You were right!

Thanks so much, Austin.

Rgds

Newbie
Newbie
7,443 Views
Registered: ‎05-08-2016

I am encountering a similar issue.  I have a block design with a few ip blocks, iic, spi and a few others to use in a future design but am currently just trying to successfully execute Hello World through the uart within this project.  I have previously run the hello world microblaze project as a standalone project by following tutorials online and want to begin my new more complicated design by accomplishing something I know I can do.  I am using a microblaze based design on a vc707 dev board, however when I go to execute the hello world example project within my new design, I get the same error that was in this thread (shown below). 

 

"Error while launching program:
Cannot stop MicroBlaze. MicroBlaze is held in reset"

So I took your advice and traced the reset signal back to its source and held it down while executing hello world to see if the polarity was flipped.  In this case I got a slightly different error.

 

"Error while launching program:
Cannot stop MicroBlaze. Stalled on instruction fetch"

To see if there was an issue with the reset button itself I tested the design by simply inserting a constant into the design where the reset had been.  I got the same two error messages when I tried 0, and 1 for the reset.

 

I also deleted and reinserted the microblaze and clocking wizard ip blocks to see if the configuration of those ips was the issue but that also produced the same error messages (depending on whether I was holding the reset or not). 

 

Any insight would be greatly appreciated!

 

Thanks,

Steve

0 Kudos
Reply
Newbie
Newbie
7,431 Views
Registered: ‎05-08-2016

Well I figured it out.  I had the same reset signal connected to both the "processing system reset" block and "clocking wizard" but one was active high reset and the other was active low reset.  So no matter what position the reset button was in, the system would not work.  I just deleted the ip's and reinserted them with the same reset polarity and everything worked.  Hopefully this satisfies the curiosity of the three people that will ever read this post haha

0 Kudos
Reply
4,359 Views
Registered: ‎08-08-2018

Hello 

 

I have same problem in Vivado  2018.2 . I've checked the reset signal in my design and  the polarity is same as reset in microblaze. I got the same error that "can not stop microblaze, Microblaze is held in reset". Is there any one has this problem in Vivado 2018.2? 

 

warm regards

0 Kudos
Reply
Observer
Observer
3,977 Views
Registered: ‎03-22-2013

Hallo,

"External Reset Logic Level" keeps being 0 after changing it to 1.

 

Guten Tag


@pedram.babakhani wrote:

Hello 

 

I have same problem in Vivado  2018.2 . I've checked the reset signal in my design and  the polarity is same as reset in microblaze. I got the same error that "can not stop microblaze, Microblaze is held in reset". Is there any one has this problem in Vivado 2018.2? 

 

warm regards


 

0 Kudos
Reply
1,004 Views
Registered: ‎10-15-2019

I get the same issue with 2019.1

There's information in the debug control and status registers but I can't find any information on how to interpret/set these

David

0 Kudos
Reply