Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Foxchild
Visitor
Visitor

Experienced opinion needed for CNN implementation

Jump to solution

For my thesis I want to implement a CNN (convolutional neural network) on a Zynq-7000 board (Arty Z7). I have some experience with Xilinx (mostly Microblaze designs) but now I am struggling with the outline of my project.

I need to do the following:

1. Continuously receive frames of RD (range doppler) maps in defined time periods over Ethernet
  2. Process CNN
  3. Transfer processed data to PC

Some details if you care:

• RD maps:
    • 96x96 points
    • 32-bit floating complex values
    • In total one frame is 96x96x2x4 = 74kB
  • Receive period is variable (~100ms)
  • CNN is only three layer with 8-bit weights

Now I could need some experience with how I'd like to implement this system. This is my idea:

1. Configure the Ethernet interface on the Arty Z7 in order to receive a frame
  2. Store the frame via DMA in BRAM on PL
  3. Use custom DMA on PL in order to stream RD map through CNN logic
  4. Store processed data in another BRAM on PL
  5. Use UART in order to transfer processed data from BRAM in PL to PC
  6. Repeat

I'd be happy to hear any better ideas! I have no experience with Vitis AI. Might this be a better solution here?

Otherwise, here are my questions regarding this implementation:

• The receive buffer of the ethernet interface isn't big enough for a whole frame, so I guess I'll have to write 96 lines of the 96x96-point map (96x2x4=768 Bytes) and transfer each line from receive buffer to BRAM with PS DMA? Is there any better way?
  • Is it even possible for the PS DMA to directly write to PL BRAM?
  • Do I have to reconfigure the PS DMA everytime I received one line (in order to write to the correct consecutive memory region)? Is it even practical to use DMA then?