Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Highlighted
Visitor
Visitor

Fpga replacing microcontrollers?

Hi,

I am new to the fpga world. My projects always used microcontrollers to do the processing.

Can a fpga be used to replace a generic microcontroller?

I mean from the algorithm point of view... like making a text user interface, read buttons, edit data with a lcd and generate some waveforms.

I plan to start my study with a small cpld and verilog. Do you have any advice?

Thank you.

Message Edited by future56k on 02-16-2008 05:01 PM

Message Edited by future56k on 02-16-2008 05:02 PM
0 Kudos
4 Replies
Highlighted
Explorer
Explorer

I've never used a "generic microcontroller", but it should be possible to use an FPGA to replace one.

Depending on what your idea of "small" is, a small CPLD may not be sufficient.  You probably want a large CPLD, or a small FPGA.  I'd recommend the Spartan-3, -3E, -3A, or -3AN Starter Kits, as they offer a very inexpensive way to get started with FPGAs.

PicoBlaze is a good place to start.  It's a very simple microcontroller, and can be downloaded from the Xilinx web site at no charge.

I personally prefer VHDL, but Verilog works fine.

0 Kudos
Highlighted
Visitor
Visitor

By "generic" I mean no specific brand or architecture.

The case is that I have a 64kb firmware running on a 8 bit microcontroller. I plan to move some things to a cpld... but I am wondering if it would be possible to move everything to a fpga or cpld.

Thank you.

0 Kudos
Highlighted
Xilinx Employee
Xilinx Employee

Xilinx currently offers:
-PicoBlaze - 8-bit sequencer, occupies most of a 2C256 CPLD so it really doesn't target a small CPLD. It is very small when you consider modern FPGA sizes (1 BlockRAM + ~200 logic cells for kcpsm3 [the latest version])
-MicroBlaze - 32-bit soft processor (it is implemented in fabric logic). Supports FPGA families Virtex and newer