cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
daryon
Adventurer
Adventurer
742 Views
Registered: ‎08-30-2018

How to transform this design into KC705 using a Microblaze?

Hi,

 

FYI : I am using Vivado 2017.3 targeting a KC705 board including a Kintex-7 (xc7k325t) FPGA.

 

I am trying to read data from DDR3 and load it to a FIFO and then send the read data for JESD204 to be read out by DAC.

 

Within my search, I found that Xilinx has provide a design strategy here, that implements an AXI DMA and FIFO on a Zynq device which has a PS and PL part.

 

I am trying to transform this design to be compatible with KC705 board and replace the Zynq Processing System with Microblaze. I cannot get a functional design. Can anybody help me to solve this issue?

 

Here is the design schematic provided by Xilinx:

 

 

zynq.png

 

Thanks and Regards,

Daryon

 

 

 

 

4 Replies
tedbooth
Scholar
Scholar
700 Views
Registered: ‎03-28-2016

UG913 has some info about using microblaze on the KC705 board.

 

https://www.xilinx.com/support/documentation/boards_and_kits/k7_emb/2013_2/ug913-kc705-getting-started.pdf

 

 

Ted Booth | Tech. Lead FPGA Design Engineer | DesignLinx Solutions
https://www.designlinxhs.com
0 Kudos
pvenugo
Moderator
Moderator
679 Views
Registered: ‎07-31-2012

Hi @daryon,

 

You got to do following steps-

1) re-target the Vivado project to KC705 evaluation board at settings.

2) Remove Zynq PS, Processor System Reset IPs.

3) Update rest of IP to KC705 as it will be prompted.

3) Add Microblaze and do connection automation.

Refer to block diagram in http://www.fpgadeveloper.com/2014/08/using-the-axi-dma-in-vivado.html 

 

Regards

Praveen


-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Don’t forget to reply, kudo, and accept as solution.
-------------------------------------------------------------------------
0 Kudos
savula
Moderator
Moderator
652 Views
Registered: ‎10-30-2017

Hi @daryon,

 

This is not that straight forward, because you need the MIG IP in case of Micro blaze which is not needed in case of Zynq because the Zynq as it included the DDR controller in it. replace the Zynq with Micro blaze and add the MIG IP and then try.

 

Best Regards,
Srikanth
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Kindly note- Please mark the Answer as "Accept as solution" if information provided is helpful.

Give Kudos to a post which you think is helpful and reply oriented.

0 Kudos
daryon
Adventurer
Adventurer
648 Views
Registered: ‎08-30-2018

Hi @savula, @pvenugo, and @tedbooth,

 

Thanks for your replies. Can you please have a look on my recent post regarding this issue which I could solve some part of the problem but stuck in the final result.

 

Thanks for your kind consideration and help.

 

Daryon