cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Highlighted
Adventurer
Adventurer
4,347 Views
Registered: ‎02-12-2017

MicroBlaze - UART

Jump to solution

Hi guys,

 

I would like to ask what all I need to read and write data via terminal (e.g. putty) when I use MicroBlaze?

May I want to run an application on Microblaze with a switch case and so I want to enter a case via Terminal

which will be correctly accepted? Can I use the standard UART e.g. on Zedboard/Zynq or have I to use UartLite?

 

Another quastion is: What could be the reason by a standard HelloWorld printf program that I just saw only some

letter for example "Hel" instead of "Hello" (Launch on SystemDebugger).

 

Thank you in advance

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
Highlighted
Adventurer
Adventurer
6,751 Views
Registered: ‎10-24-2016

Hi, 

 

You can find examples of how to use UART (and most of Xilinx cores) on your own PC.

 

Normally, this is the path where the examples are (if you are using ISE Design). 

 

C:\Xilinx\14.7\ISE_DS\EDK\sw\XilinxProcessorIPLib\drivers\uartlite_v2_00_a\examples

 

For Vivado I am not sure but it should be inside Xilinx directory.

 

Good luck!

View solution in original post

4 Replies
Highlighted
Adventurer
Adventurer
6,752 Views
Registered: ‎10-24-2016

Hi, 

 

You can find examples of how to use UART (and most of Xilinx cores) on your own PC.

 

Normally, this is the path where the examples are (if you are using ISE Design). 

 

C:\Xilinx\14.7\ISE_DS\EDK\sw\XilinxProcessorIPLib\drivers\uartlite_v2_00_a\examples

 

For Vivado I am not sure but it should be inside Xilinx directory.

 

Good luck!

View solution in original post

Highlighted
Adventurer
Adventurer
4,150 Views
Registered: ‎02-12-2017

@alxtrnk Thank you for your support!

0 Kudos
2,516 Views
Registered: ‎02-08-2018

I am using ISE 14.4.

MicroBlaze is added in my code for device Spartan3A DSP 1800

 

I want to use UART from Microblaze.

When i am sending data of 3 bytes or more from UART First byte received is wrong always.

 like,

09-02-2018 10:48:06.547 [TX] - 12 13 25
09-02-2018 10:48:06.558 [RX] - 89 13 25
09-02-2018 10:48:23.503 [TX] - 55 AA CC
09-02-2018 10:48:23.511 [RX] - AA AA CC

 

12 received as 89 means point i got is LSB is removed from original data and then MSB added as 1 and other 7 bit data is right shifted. 

Even i tried to do by sending 1 byte data but still problem is observed.

During UART setting baud rate set is 115200 and same is et on Docklight.

 

Baud rate is correct verified in xparameters.h

 

So please suggest me solution to get correct data for first byte.

0 Kudos
Highlighted
Moderator
Moderator
2,509 Views
Registered: ‎07-31-2012

Hi @prashantfunde91,

 

The original post is answered and marked as accepted solution.

To get more eyes on your query and get response please do new post.

 

Regards

Praveen


-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Don’t forget to reply, kudo, and accept as solution.
-------------------------------------------------------------------------
0 Kudos