Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
anon12850
Visitor
Visitor

PS-PL DRAM discrepancy

Jump to solution

Hi.

I am currently facing a problem whilst attempting to exchange data between the PL and PS of a Trenz Electronic TE0808-04-BBE21-AS MPSoC module. The following test fails my expectations:

1. I have a AXI master PL design which fills up the 0x0-0xFFC adress range with 0xFFFFFFFF through an AXI burst write upon receiving a start signal. It is a state machine, first performing a burst read (doing nothing with the data), and then performing a burst write in the mentioned address range. See axi_test_top.zip.
  2. The start signal is connected to the PS through an AXI GPIO. See platform.pdf.
  3. I have a short piece of C code which pulses the PL start signal. See main.c.
  4. I program the PL and run the code on core #0 of the PS.
  5. Once finished, I take a look at the DRAM in the XSCT console from the perspective of core #0. What I notice is that some sub-ranges of the 0x0-0xFFC address range are not filled up with 0xFFFFFFFF, but most are. I cannot explain why so. See mrd_core0.txt.
  6. I now switch targets to another PS core and I read the 0x0-0xFFC DRAM address range. I notice that everything looks as intended, the full address range is filled with 0xFFFFFFFF. See mrd_core1.txt.
I initially ran this test on a ZedBoard Rev E, obtaining similar results. In addition, the ZedBoard would not allow the PS to read DRAM values in its code after it triggered the start signal of the PL. I could only read the DRAM from the XSCT console.

The Vivado AXI peripheral example design with one master interface apears to behave correctly. It successfully fills up a range of DRAM addresses with an incrementing value. This convinces me that I am making a mistake in my design. But where?
Tags (3)
0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
vanmierlo
Mentor
Mentor