Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
pranju
Adventurer
Adventurer

Regarding interface between PS and PL

Jump to solution

Hi,

I have some knowledge regarding FPGAs. I need help regarding the transfer of data from PS to PL. I have seen videos and read articles regarding the communication between PS and PL. I am unable to comprehend and unclear as it involves the DMA transfer, DDR memory, BRAM, etc. I have the Zynq 7000 series board with petalinux kernel running ROS and OpenCV. I want to capture the image from the USB camera and forward it to the PL for further processing and make use of hardware acceleration.Can someone please provide an idea to proceed with it?

1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
savula

Hi @pranju,

there are different interconnects are available for PS PL communication in Zynq:

1.  CPUs and accelerator coherency port (ACP)
2.  High performance PL interfaces, AXI_HP{3:0}
3.  General purpose PL interfaces, AXI_GP{1:0}
4.  DMA controller
5.  AHB masters (I/O peripherals with local DMA units)
6.  Device configuration (DevC) and debug access port (DAP)

These ports are used to transfer the data between the PS and PL.

Please read the Chapter 5 in ug585 (zynq 7000 TRM).

coming to your application, there is a similar type of xapp (xapp1205) is available which demonstrates the VDMA and PS PL communication using the HP ports.

this xapp will helps you to understand and develop the PS PL communication.

https://www.xilinx.com/support/documentation/application_notes/xapp1205-high-performance-video-zynq.pdf

Best Regards,
Srikanth
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Kindly note- Please mark the Answer as "Accept as solution" if information provided is helpful.

Give Kudos to a post which you think is helpful and reply oriented.

View solution in original post

0 Kudos
9 Replies
savula

Hi @pranju,

there are different interconnects are available for PS PL communication in Zynq: