cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
klausraizer
Newbie
Newbie
4,683 Views
Registered: ‎03-16-2009

Spartan 3E: PC->Microblaze->VHDL Problem

Greetings.

I have built a project with ISE 10.1 and it worked perfectly fine there. At the moment I am trying to establish a serial (rs-232) connection between my project and the PC using Microblaze to perform the task.

The communication works perfectly; I have tested it with the example tutorial which sums  a sequence of numbers given to the vhdl. The final sum is then correctly retrieved.

The problem is when I try to use my project, the one built with ISE. It has a main.vhdl and also of a number of VHDL files with constants, types and components.
When I try to use it, it says things are not compatible. A signed signal declared in the main vhdl for instance is not compatible with a signed signal declared using a TYPE from one of the vhdl files...

This is my PAO file:

lib main_v1_00_a components vhdl
lib main_v1_00_a tipos vhdl
lib main_v1_00_a constantes vhdl
lib main_v1_00_a LUT vhdl
lib main_v1_00_a ActFunc vhdl
lib main_v1_00_a main vhdl


My main.vhdl contains:

library ieee;
library work;
use ieee.std_logic_1164.all;
use ieee.numeric_std.all;
use IEEE.STD_LOGIC_SIGNED.ALL;

library main_v1_00_a;
use main_v1_00_a.tipos.all;
use main_v1_00_a.components.all;
use main_v1_00_a.constantes.all;
use main_v1_00_a.LUT.all;

And the operation I'm trying to perform is:

funct    : ActFunc port map (soma, saida);

"saida" is a 16 bits signed, soma is a 32 bits signed. ActFunc gets soma and returns a value from a vector of signed stored at LUT.

I am currently getting an ERROR while trying to import the peripheral, here follows my "Import peripheral wizard log file":

Parsing PAO project file successfully ...
Analyzing HDL source files ...
Analyzing HDL source files successfully ...
HDL language for the peripheral (top level) design unit main is vhdl ...
WARNING:MDT - Project file
   E:\KR\KRrecente\29-9-2009_Comunicar_Serial-MicroBlaze-VHDL\pcores/main.prj
   already exists, will be overwrite and removed afterward ...
INFO:MDT - Create temparary xst project file:
   E:\KR\KRrecente\29-9-2009_Comunicar_Serial-MicroBlaze-VHDL\pcores/main.prj
Compiling vhdl file
"E:/KR/KRrecente/29-9-2009_Comunicar_Serial-MicroBlaze-VHDL/pcores/main_v1_00_a/
hdl/vhdl/constantes.vhd" in Library main_v1_00_a.
Package <constantes> compiled.
Compiling vhdl file
"E:/KR/KRrecente/29-9-2009_Comunicar_Serial-MicroBlaze-VHDL/pcores/main_v1_00_a/
hdl/vhdl/tipos.vhd" in Library main_v1_00_a.
Package <tipos> compiled.
Compiling vhdl file
"E:/KR/KRrecente/29-9-2009_Comunicar_Serial-MicroBlaze-VHDL/pcores/main_v1_00_a/
hdl/vhdl/LUT.vhd" in Library main_v1_00_a.
Package <LUT> compiled.
Compiling vhdl file
"E:/KR/KRrecente/29-9-2009_Comunicar_Serial-MicroBlaze-VHDL/pcores/main_v1_00_a/
hdl/vhdl/components.vhd" in Library main_v1_00_a.
Package <components> compiled.
Compiling vhdl file
"E:/KR/KRrecente/29-9-2009_Comunicar_Serial-MicroBlaze-VHDL/pcores/main_v1_00_a/
hdl/vhdl/ActFunc.vhd" in Library main_v1_00_a.
Entity <ActFunc> compiled.
Entity <ActFunc> (Architecture <Behavioral>) compiled.
Compiling vhdl file
"E:/KR/KRrecente/29-9-2009_Comunicar_Serial-MicroBlaze-VHDL/pcores/main_v1_00_a/
hdl/vhdl/main.vhd" in Library main_v1_00_a.
Entity <main> compiled.
ERROR:HDLParsers:820 -
   "E:/KR/KRrecente/29-9-2009_Comunicar_Serial-MicroBlaze-VHDL/pcores/main_v1_00
   _a/hdl/vhdl/main.vhd" Line 187. Type of actual ports is not compatible with
   type of ports of ActFunc.
ERROR:MDT - Parse Errors encountered in HDL source
WARNING:MDT - Unable to delete temparary project file
   E:\KR\KRrecente\29-9-2009_Comunicar_Serial-MicroBlaze-VHDL\pcores\main.prj :
   13


I feel lost. Any ideas about what the problem could be?

thanks in advance!





0 Kudos
Reply
1 Reply
klausraizer
Newbie
Newbie
4,644 Views
Registered: ‎03-16-2009

One interesting point I forgot to mention is that the library system seems to be working correctly. I say that because I can use constants declared in the constants.vhdl package without any problem.

 

Anyone ever had a problem like this?

 

cheers.  :)

0 Kudos
Reply