cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
HuanTran

Trigger AXI DMA using timer without intervention from Microblaze

Hello, I am an FPGA newbie. Just got a question regarding Xilinx DMA IP. My project involves reading data from an XADC at a frequency above 1 kHz. Right now, I am using a MicroBlaze with a timer interrupt to do this. However, the MicroBlaze also runs the lwIP library to implement a TCP/IP stack on it, and the reading of the XADC from the MicroBlaze seems to overwhelm the MicroBlaze as the frequency increases above 500Hz. So, I am trying to offload the XADC reading to a DMA IP that moves data from the XADC to a FIFO. The trouble I am having right now is I couldn't find a way to trigger the DMA IP transfer without the intervention of the Microblaze at the end of each transfer. I couldn't find a way to set a delay between each transfer either ( the delay here is to make sure I am collecting samples from the XADC at a frequency below the sampling frequency of the XADC). It would be perfect if the Microblaze could set up the DMA only at the beginning then the DMA will automatically run the configured transfer every 100ms without the intervention from the Microblaze. Does anyone know if this is doable with Xilinx DMA IP or any other DMA?

Tags (3)
0 Kudos
2 Replies
abommera
Xilinx Employee
Xilinx Employee

Hi @HuanTran,

You can try with Cyclic DMA mode which fetches and processes the same BDs without interruption.

Please refer to PG021, page no.74 for more details.

https://www.xilinx.com/support/documentation/ip_documentation/axi_dma/v7_1/pg021_axi_dma.pdf

Thanks & Regards
Anil B
-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Don’t forget to reply, kudo, and accept as solution.
-------------------------------------------------------------------------
HuanTran

Hello Abommera,