cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Highlighted

Understanding the DMA Peripheral

Hello,

I'm using a reference design that includes an Analog to Digital Converter (ADC) connected to the FMC connector, a Microblaze, a Direct Memory Access (DMA) peripheral and DDR3 Ram. This is my first time using a design that contains a DMA peripheral. I've been reading the documentation on it and have read through tutorials on it, but I still feel like I'm missing some fundamentally basic knowledge on why I should use it. I'm hoping someone can help me understand this better.

As I understand the design right now, the DMA is used to take streaming data from the ADC and map it to memory, what is labeled as a Slave to Memory Mapped (S2MM) transfer. This is why a DMA is required. The standard AXI Interconnect peripheral cannot handle streaming data. Am I correct so far? Is the statement that anytime I use AXI-Streaming I will need to include a DMA correct?

How does the DMA determine a destination address for a stream? Is this built in somewhere? If the stream ends, how does the DMA know?

As the DMA is filling up some block of memory, is there protection against overflowing? Will I be told if it filled the RAM up faster then I could read the data? Can I set boundaries on the base and high addresses for the DMA block to fill?

Thanks for helping me to understand this better. It's very new to me.

v/r,

Rich

0 Kudos
12 Replies
Highlighted
Xilinx Employee
Xilinx Employee

Re: Understanding the DMA Peripheral

Hi Rich

Each has a specific use case .

1) AXI CDMA - Memory-mapped to memory-mapped transfers (i.e. if your BRAM is already hanging off the AXI interconnect, this will probably be the best bet)

2) AXI Datamover - AXI Stream to AXI Memory Mapped conversion, but you have lower level control of commands (most likely don't need to use this unless you need some sort of custom DMA operations or something)