cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Highlighted
Visitor
Visitor

Where to start with Zynq, Vivado, Linux

I'm very new to Zynq family, spend only one week reading different user guides and datasheets for Zynq and petalinux.
But I can't understand where to start. I couldn't find any clear example, for example:
Very simple design of CPU and memory mapped FPGA BRAM that would work under linux. (Like they have got for PCIe for example).
Example in "ug898 vivado embedded design" is from I can make it just for baremetal design example(I might be wrong).
concept tools guide is for ISE and XPS.

I'm not going to complain about anything just ask some quations tha I can't answer after week of reading.
Mostly questions about software.

1. Does Vivado replaces XPS?

2. Can Vivado be used for the hole design FPGA and software for petalinux(I can't find for example petalinux sdk kit for vivado only for ISE 14.5).

3. Petalinux, from what I can make rootfs is in memory, which is limited to say 1Gb. Can it be moved to SDCard somehow? Petalinux seems to be very limited is comes with just Busybox and not much else.

4. There are few different distributions for Zedboard Ubuntu ArchLinux.
    Am I right thinking that using this distros I can design custom PL in Zynq compile and point FSBL to it, then load Ubuntu, use apt-get for example to install different packages that would come with Ubuntu.

5. In this case why not to do all the debuging of the software on the Zynq using gdb for example why we need to connect to GDB server from host.

6. Ok. My object is to use existant software that was designed for Ubuntu 10.04 LTS (pc not embedded so it is fully blown distro).
   Design Zynq based Linux box with FPGA logic inside it and use the same software stack that already exists. Is it posible? What linux distro to use? Petalinux? Ubuntu? Arch Linux?