UPGRADE YOUR BROWSER

We have detected your current browser version is not the latest one. Xilinx.com uses the latest web technologies to bring you the best online experience possible. Please upgrade to a Xilinx.com supported browser:Chrome, Firefox, Internet Explorer 11, Safari. Thank you!

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Highlighted
Observer mmagdi
Observer

Add Approximate ALU to Microblaze

Jump to solution

Hello,
As I am still a beginner in this field, I hope my question will not sound silly.

I am trying to implement an approximate ALU design in the Microblaze besides the original one, so I would have the microblaze switch between the exact and the approximate behavior depending on the application requirements, and test the difference in performance, error rate and so on. 

1. Should the new ALU be a customized packaged IP and then connected to the microblaze? (and in this case through the AXI or the FSL bus system?)
2. Is there a way to directly  add the new ALU in the microblaze, by editing the VHDL code? (I couldnt find a component in the code explicitly labeled ALU for example.)
3. What is the best way then to switch between the 2 ALUs? (Editing the instruction set seems to be too complicated)

Looking forward for your answers.

Thanks in advance.

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
Scholar dpaul24
Scholar

Re: Add Approximate ALU to Microblaze

Jump to solution

@mmagdi,

I am looking at the https://www.xilinx.com/support/documentation/sw_manuals/mb_ref_guide.pdf

I have never dug up the uB, but have used it a few years ago. The big question is do you have the micro-architecture specification for the uB and its non-encrypted?

So here are my generic comments after reading what you want to do...

1. Should the new ALU be a customized packaged IP and then connected to the microblaze? (and in this case through the AXI or the FSL bus system?)

-- Shouldn't matter for now. First get an answer to Q2 and Q3.