UPGRADE YOUR BROWSER

We have detected your current browser version is not the latest one. Xilinx.com uses the latest web technologies to bring you the best online experience possible. Please upgrade to a Xilinx.com supported browser:Chrome, Firefox, Internet Explorer 11, Safari. Thank you!

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Visitor tommysand
Visitor

Ethernet for Data Transfer from DDR3 to PC : Zedboard

Hey! 

I need to transfer data from the board to the PC using Ethernet. I want to read a set of data from the DDR3 memory whose memory location will be specified by me(at the program itself). I already tried lwIP and it works fine. But now I need to receive data alone from a specific memory location in the PS part.

Please help me.

I'm new to the field so please bear with me! :(

I would really appreciate it if you could suggest step by step procedures as I'm clearly a newbie.

Regards,

Tom

0 Kudos
17 Replies
Teacher muzaffer
Teacher

Re: Ethernet for Data Transfer from DDR3 to PC : Zedboard

@tommysand Are you using PS or PL to transmit data over ethernet? If PS, you just can create a socket and do a send with the address you have. If PL, what does your PL design look like? You can setup a dma transfer from DDR (over say HP0) and have the data sent to Ethernet. 

- Please mark the Answer as "Accept as solution" if information provided is helpful.
Give Kudos to a post which you think is helpful and reply oriented.
0 Kudos
Visitor tommysand
Visitor

Hey.

I'm transferring the data from the PS part!

I'm using a python socket at the computer to receive the data but I have no clue at how to transfer the data from the PS to the Computer using Ethernet.

Additionally the data is from the start of this address (0xa000000) and I need to enable the Ethernet module to read values from this location. Can you please tell me clearly how to do it in steps (I'm a noob and I don't have previous knowledge on such stuff and I'm trying to learn :( )