UPGRADE YOUR BROWSER

We have detected your current browser version is not the latest one. Xilinx.com uses the latest web technologies to bring you the best online experience possible. Please upgrade to a Xilinx.com supported browser:Chrome, Firefox, Internet Explorer 11, Safari. Thank you!

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Adventurer
Adventurer

How to have a version number for the FPGA project?

Jump to solution

I'm a little new to FPGA design, I'm normally a software engineer.  With software, this topic is solved, there's lots of ways to put a version number in software.  My company puts version numbers in each individual HDL module, but since I need to know what HDL modules are even in the FPGA before I can try and check their version, is there some way to have a version number attached to the FPGA project as a whole, that can be readable from software?  Maybe some register in the Zynq that's always there and the Vivado project can be configured to set to a particular value?  It's fine if I have to manually set the version.  Or do we have to make a special "version" HDL module that will always be at a particular address with the project version?  Has anyone solved this problem in an elegant way?

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
Xilinx Employee
Xilinx Employee

Re: How to have a version number for the FPGA project?

Jump to solution
You can give a register in the hardware and write/read it from teh SW using the processor. As such there is no other way to assign a version number to a design which can be readable from the processor as i know.
Thanks,
Anirudh

PS: Please MARK this as an answer in case it helped resolve your query.Give kudos in case the post guided you to a solution.
0 Kudos
19 Replies
Xilinx Employee
Xilinx Employee

Jump to solution

HI @jschell

https://www.xilinx.com/support/documentation/application_notes/xapp1165.pdf