cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Highlighted
Participant
Participant

Microblaze instruction insert overrun , any idea?

Hi all,

I'm a newbie to develop embedded system based on vivado. I create a simple system as shown in the following diagram.  When I complete the bit stream generation stage, and run a simple helloworld project on SDK. An error has occurred. "Error while launching program: Memory write error at 0x80000000. Microblaze instruction insert overrun". 0x80000000 is the base address of DDR4. If I remove the ddr4 mig from the diagram, and boot the program from local memory, it works. I have no idea about this problem, can anyone give a suggestion? many thanks.  By the way, the clock from c0_ddr4_ui_clk_sync_rst is 300 MHz, while the system clock is 100 MHz.

2.png

0 Kudos
4 Replies
Highlighted
Voyager
Voyager

Re: Microblaze instruction insert overrun , any idea?

Really not enough information. 

How did you get the settings for the DDR4?  You might try to use an example design with a traffic generator on the MIG.  Check reset polarities and verify your clocks are working.  Increase the size of your local memory, change your linker script to run out of local memory.  Use VLA to debug resets and init_calib_complete.  Make sure your pinouts are correct.

Mike
0 Kudos
Highlighted
Participant
Participant

Hi maps-mpls,

My project is based on the Virtex UltraScale+ VCU118 Evaluation Platform with vivado 2017.4.  All the settings of DDR4 MIG are automatically generated by vivado. The reset polarities and clocks are correct. The size of local memory is 64 KB which is large enough to run a HelloWorld project. It seems to be a bug of sdk because when I download the bitstream and the elf file, the error arise, see the first figure.