Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Explorer
Explorer

Microblaze to FPGA fabric examples

Hi,

I am new to Microblaze.

I have run some sample code on AC701, Vivado 2016.2 using microblaze subsystem (axi uart lite, Axi GPIO, Axi xadc) etc.

No I would like to interface microblaze subsystem to FPGA fabric. My intention is to use Microblaze subsystem as a part of my HDL design.

How to do this ?? is there any documentation or example implementation for this design.

I requirements is to

1. generate interrupts to microblaze subsystem

2. GPIO signalling b/w Microflaze and FPGA hDL

3. Register access... Shared register between microBlaze and FPGA HDL.... used to pass parameters to miroblaze and vice versa

Is there any example design for the above??

0 Kudos
5 Replies
Highlighted
Teacher
Teacher

Re: Microblaze to FPGA fabric examples

It's probably important to understand that the Microblaze is part of the FPGA fabric (it is not a hard processor like the ARM in a SoC) and, as such, you can simply consider it to be a module just like any other VHDL module.

At a subsystem level, the Microblaze is usually instantiated with some AXI structure and probably an interrupt aggregator plus local BRAM. I can't really think why you would connect a GPIO module to another custom module when you could simply do an AXI transfer to the custom module UNLESS you don't want to place an AXI slave front end to your (presumably already extant) custom module.

Interrupt handling is just routing a signal from your custom module to the interrupt module (I assume AXI based), taking note of signal polarity and whether or not that signal is edge or level sensitive, as defined by the interrupt handling module (there may need to be signal attributes applied to allow you to connect the two together in Vivado block design .. I'm not sure).