cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Highlighted
Explorer
Explorer

QUAD SPI flash controller

I'm new to Xilinx designs, I want to use the SPI flash to program the kintex FPGA I have.

If I understand correctly, I need to connect the SPI controller to the flash to program it first.

I want to use for this controller a ready to use IP from Xilinx (quad SPI), but when I try to connect the signals I'm getting an error saying that the pin that I need to use for the clock (CCLK) can't be connected ("dedicated pin").

I'm using the 160t kintex, this pin is C8 but Vivado (2015.4) won't let me connect the clock from the SPI controller to this pin.

How can I connect the clock to this pin or what is the correct way to use the external SPI flash (N25Q128A from Micron)?

0 Kudos
4 Replies
Highlighted

Re: QUAD SPI flash controller

Hi,

if you have the board ready with spi interface to fpga then you can use the vivado programmer to program the spi flash

First you wil need to convert the bit to mcs file.

The programming logic which is required to program the spi flash is automatically loaded by vivado programmer during programming

Following links will help

http://www.xilinx.com/support/documentation/application_notes/xapp586-spi-flash.pdf

http://www.xilinx.com/support/documentation/sw_manuals/xilinx2016_2/ug908-vivado-programming-debugging.pdf

0 Kudos
Highlighted
Scholar
Scholar

@goychman There are 2 thing here

1) If you would like to just program fpga using Spi flash then there is no need to have quad spi ip in your design, You can use the vivado hardware manager to program the flash, after successful programming of the flash upon power on fpga gets configured from the spi flash

2)For  Post-configuration Access, if you would like to read/write data to the spi flash then you need AXI QUad SPI (Controller) which can communicate with the flash once the configuration is done.

Now to answer your question: