UPGRADE YOUR BROWSER

We have detected your current browser version is not the latest one. Xilinx.com uses the latest web technologies to bring you the best online experience possible. Please upgrade to a Xilinx.com supported browser:Chrome, Firefox, Internet Explorer 11, Safari. Thank you!

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Observer emu
Observer
1,368 Views
Registered: ‎11-05-2013

Ultrascale, RPU boots APU?

Is it possible, to start a standalone RPU application, which starts a full blown APU linux on demand?

 

If yes, how?

 

Thanks!

0 Kudos
14 Replies
Xilinx Employee
Xilinx Employee
1,335 Views
Registered: ‎09-01-2014

Re: Ultrascale, RPU boots APU?

FSBL can be running on R5, it will load Linux.
If you want to boot Linux on demand from R5 user application,
It’s possible. You need to manually load ATF u-boot and kernel image in user application like what FSBL does.
0 Kudos
Observer emu
Observer
1,329 Views
Registered: ‎11-05-2013

Re: Ultrascale, RPU boots APU?

Hi Ritakur,

just to clarify (this is all for a battery powered application, ...)

 

a.) I can boot to a standalone RPU application, running in the On-Chip-Memory, with APU & DDR powered off.

 

b.) when the RPU application decides we need the full linux, we power up DDR, load the u-boot (can't load linux kernel directly?),

and start the APU

 

c.) when the heavy lifting was done, I can power down the APU & DDR and jump back to "a.)"

 

right? Am I missing anything?

 

Any examples how to do it all?

 

Doesn't have to be linux, could also be "just" a APU standalone code ..

 

Thanks in advance

0 Kudos
Moderator
Moderator
1,325 Views
Registered: ‎06-27-2017

Re: Ultrascale, RPU boots APU?

Hi @emu,

 

Have you refered below user guide on

https://www.xilinx.com/support/documentation/sw_manuals/xilinx2018_1/ug1209-embedded-design-tutorial.pdf

 

Refer Section:Linux on APU and Bare-Metal on RPU

 

Regards
Kranthi
--------------------------
Don't forget to reply, kudo, and accept as solution.

Best Regards
Kranthi
--------------------------
Don't forget to reply, kudo, and accept as solution.
0 Kudos
Xilinx Employee
Xilinx Employee
1,320 Views
Registered: ‎07-23-2012

Re: Ultrascale, RPU boots APU?

Yes you can shut down FPD (APU & DDR) by sending commands to PMU through RPU. When you want to power-up APU & DDR, you can do that by initiating power-up commands from RPU via PMU.

You have the APIs available in PMUFW code and you should write your own application. As a reference, you can look into http://www.wiki.xilinx.com/ZU%EF%BC%8B+Example+-+Power+Off+Suspend
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Please mark the post as "Accept as solution" if the information provided answers your query/resolves your issue.

Give Kudos to a post which you think is helpful.
0 Kudos
Moderator
Moderator
1,310 Views
Registered: ‎03-19-2014

Re: Ultrascale, RPU boots APU?

FPD needs to be provided at boot, it can be disabled after boot.   Refer to UG1085 "Full-Power Operation Mode"

-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Don’t forget to reply, kudo, and accept as solution.
-------------------------------------------------------------------------
0 Kudos
Observer emu
Observer
1,235 Views
Registered: ‎11-05-2013

Re: Ultrascale, RPU boots APU?

Sorry, there are too many trees in this forest ;-)

 

I'm trying to use the this on a zcu104 board, and failing already at the state adding the PMU in the MPSOC IP.

As the ZCU102 & ZCU104 uses different GPIOs, and the ZCU104 uses them for a different purpose

I'm stuck here. Actually, does the PMU use the GPIOs, or just the I2C bus to control the PMBUS,

where the power supplies would be switched not by actual I/O pins, but via I2C commands on the PMbus?

And, where is the list/config of which address points into a specific voltage?

 

Sorry, still lost here

0 Kudos
Moderator
Moderator
1,231 Views
Registered: ‎03-19-2014

Re: Ultrascale, RPU boots APU?

Looking at the ZCU104 schematic, MIO[32] and MIO[33] are not used by the PMU.  So you would need to control the supplies via IIC in addition to the PMUFW calls to bring and down the supplies.

-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Don’t forget to reply, kudo, and accept as solution.
-------------------------------------------------------------------------
0 Kudos
Observer emu
Observer
1,225 Views
Registered: ‎11-05-2013

Re: Ultrascale, RPU boots APU?

OK, so is it possible, to control the power supplies completely via i2c? from the PMU?

0 Kudos
Moderator
Moderator
1,215 Views
Registered: ‎03-19-2014

Re: Ultrascale, RPU boots APU?

As long as you have not added isolation blocking PMU access, yes, it has access to the iic controller.

-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Don’t forget to reply, kudo, and accept as solution.
-------------------------------------------------------------------------
0 Kudos
Observer emu
Observer
1,111 Views
Registered: ‎11-05-2013

Re: Ultrascale, RPU boots APU?


@glena wrote:

As long as you have not added isolation blocking PMU access, yes, it has access to the iic controller.


So, without the "isolation", all the software needed to control the power rails can be in the firmware of the PMU?

 

Why would I need the "isolation", and how much would I need?

 

(any reference I have to read in peace?)

0 Kudos
Moderator
Moderator
1,104 Views
Registered: ‎03-19-2014

Re: Ultrascale, RPU boots APU?

Isolation is discussed in UG1085.    Isolation usage depends on your design requirements, you can isolate access to peripherals based on your needs.

-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Don’t forget to reply, kudo, and accept as solution.
-------------------------------------------------------------------------
0 Kudos
Observer emu
Observer
1,099 Views
Registered: ‎11-05-2013

Re: Ultrascale, RPU boots APU?

Still means, that for the ZCU104 board, I would have to rewrite the PMU Firmware to support it, right?

 

Another question for the members here wit a ZCU102 board: Could you post some real numbers from the power down modes on the zcu102 board?

 

THANKS!

0 Kudos
Moderator
Moderator
1,093 Views
Registered: ‎03-19-2014

Re: Ultrascale, RPU boots APU?

Yes, you will have to write your own software to control the IIC.

 

Values for what powered down?   I'd suggest you poke around on the Wiki

-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Don’t forget to reply, kudo, and accept as solution.
-------------------------------------------------------------------------
0 Kudos
Observer emu
Observer
1,089 Views
Registered: ‎11-05-2013

Re: Ultrascale, RPU boots APU?


@glena wrote:

Yes, you will have to write your own software to control the IIC.

 

Values for what powered down?   I'd suggest you poke around on the Wiki


I would like the number for a UltraScale, running on one R5 running from internal SRAM, (DDR and A53s) switched off. The R5 is still doing some workload on the UART & iic ...

 

Need to know if it is a fit for our low power application. If it is switched on to full functionality, (A53s and DDR running) we are fine with the 3W, but the low power modes are interesting, and also, how quick we can get out of power save to full running.

0 Kudos