UPGRADE YOUR BROWSER

We have detected your current browser version is not the latest one. Xilinx.com uses the latest web technologies to bring you the best online experience possible. Please upgrade to a Xilinx.com supported browser:Chrome, Firefox, Internet Explorer 11, Safari. Thank you!

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Observer kabba
Observer

Zynq Ultrascale+ MPSoC USB CDC Device, help & information.

Hi All

I am fairly new to the software side of things, I am a VHDL Firmware & electronic designer who is trying to get back up to speed with software to be better equipped to complete designs on the Zynq US+ architecture.

I have been tasked with trying to configure the Zynq US+ USB Driver (PS Side) to act as a CDC device to a Windows PC for standalone and usable with FreeRTOS. I want to use this as main comms to my system as the UARTs 0 and 1 will be used for other comms. We want R5 processor to be the main comms handler.

I went through the basics of the USB protocol and have been looking at 

https://xilinx-wiki.atlassian.net/wiki/spaces/A/pages/18841624/Zynq-7000+AP+SoC+USB+CDC+Device+Class+Design+Example+Techtip

as an example in setting up such a device.

I see that our ZCU106 eval kit only instantiates the XUsbPsu Driver on the SDK with board file defaults. Am I right in assuming that this is the only driver I have access to because of the USB3.0 functionality added and that the XUsbPs driver is only for the Zynq7000 devices?

The Driver API Documentation usually located at:

<Install Dir>/SDK/2018.2/data/embeddedsw/XilinxProcessorIPLib/drivers/usbpsu_v1_4/doc/html/api/

I am finding very sparse in terms of explaining the functionionality and makes me feel like I am missing quite some beforehand knowledge of the Driver API.

I have found quite a few differences between the Z7000 tech tips example code and what I can find in the Xusbpsu driver code xusbpsu.h, xusbpsu_hw.h , ect.

In short my questions would be: