UPGRADE YOUR BROWSER

We have detected your current browser version is not the latest one. Xilinx.com uses the latest web technologies to bring you the best online experience possible. Please upgrade to a Xilinx.com supported browser:Chrome, Firefox, Internet Explorer 11, Safari. Thank you!

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Advisor ronnywebers
Advisor

does a DDR3 or DDR4 refresh cycle stall a PL master for a while when it wants to access the same memory region that is being refreshed?

Jump to solution

I plan to develop an IP that uses lookup tables in DDR. 

I'm not a DDR expert at all, but I understand that it has a high throughput, but has it's limitations when being used as random access memory.

I think to understand that there's a variable latency involved when accessing the DDR, i.e. whether it needs to switch banks or not, wether another access is ongoing, and so on. 

The other question I have is wether a refresh in the DDR would 'block' the PL (or any other master) from accessing the DDR, or does it happen 'transparantly' or in background such that no master suffers from a refresh? Let's say the PL wants to access a region in the DDR that is at that moment being refreshed, does that 'stall' the access until the refresh is completed? If so, how long does a typical refresh take, or where is this controlled/set?

** kudo if the answer was helpful. Accept as solution if your question is answered **
0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions

Re: does a DDR3 or DDR4 refresh cycle stall a PL master for a while when it wants to access the same memory region that is being refreshed?

Jump to solution

Hello @ronnywebers ,