UPGRADE YOUR BROWSER

We have detected your current browser version is not the latest one. Xilinx.com uses the latest web technologies to bring you the best online experience possible. Please upgrade to a Xilinx.com supported browser:Chrome, Firefox, Internet Explorer 11, Safari. Thank you!

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Visitor asu
Visitor
877 Views
Registered: ‎09-21-2018

microblaze simulation with hello world

Jump to solution

hello

I am very new to vivado and currently I started using vivado (Vivado v2018.2).

I would like to get steps to simulate (using vivado simulator and SDK) a simple micoblaze processor design (WHICH HAS UART LITE AND GPIOs)with simple hello world program.

what are the required steps for the same ? I couldn't find exact way of doing it.

Looking forward for the help.

 

 

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
Highlighted
Xilinx Employee
Xilinx Employee
821 Views
Registered: ‎10-30-2017

Re: microblaze simulation with hello world

Jump to solution

Hi @asu,

 

You can use SDK to write data into BBRAM

Please use this in your SDK code

 

unsigned int * uiDataArray = (unsigned int *)XPAR_AXI_BRAM_CTRL_0_S_AXI_BASEADDR;

 

*(unsigned int *)(uiDataArray) = 0x1234;

*(unsigned int *)(uiDataArray + 4) = 0x5678;

*(unsigned int *)(uiDataArray + 8) = 0xacbd;

 

then you can associate the elf generated in SDK in Vivado and simulate the design.

 

Best Regards,
Srikanth
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Kindly note- Please mark the Answer as "Accept as solution" if information provided is helpful.

Give Kudos to a post which you think is helpful and reply oriented.

0 Kudos
5 Replies
Xilinx Employee
Xilinx Employee
860 Views
Registered: ‎10-30-2017

Re: microblaze simulation with hello world

Jump to solution

Hi @asu,

 

Please go with the attached document to simulate the micro blaze in Vivado. 

you need to create the design and then create a application in SDK and associate the elf (generated in SDK) to the micro blaze in Vivado and then write the test bench and lanch the simulation.

 

Best Regards,
Srikanth
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Kindly note- Please mark the Answer as "Accept as solution" if information provided is helpful.

Give Kudos to a post which you think is helpful and reply oriented.

 

0 Kudos
Visitor asu
Visitor
858 Views
Registered: ‎09-21-2018

Re: microblaze simulation with hello world

Jump to solution

hi srikanth

 

how do I send data from BRAM using this application ? How should I direct the initialization code for microblaze  to BRAM?

0 Kudos
Xilinx Employee
Xilinx Employee
849 Views
Registered: ‎10-30-2017

Re: microblaze simulation with hello world

Jump to solution

Hi @asu,

 

we have the base address for the BRAM. Please write the data to that address and you can read it back from that address (nothing but writing data and reading data from the BRAM).

 

Best Regards,
Srikanth
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Kindly note- Please mark the Answer as "Accept as solution" if information provided is helpful.

Give Kudos to a post which you think is helpful and reply oriented.

0 Kudos
Visitor asu
Visitor
829 Views
Registered: ‎09-21-2018

Re: microblaze simulation with hello world

Jump to solution

Hi Srikanth

 

should we do it in SDK application ?

can we see the same in simulation ?

could you please give the steps to do the same with simulation ?

 

best regards,

Athira

0 Kudos
Highlighted
Xilinx Employee
Xilinx Employee
822 Views
Registered: ‎10-30-2017

Re: microblaze simulation with hello world

Jump to solution

Hi @asu,

 

You can use SDK to write data into BBRAM

Please use this in your SDK code

 

unsigned int * uiDataArray = (unsigned int *)XPAR_AXI_BRAM_CTRL_0_S_AXI_BASEADDR;

 

*(unsigned int *)(uiDataArray) = 0x1234;

*(unsigned int *)(uiDataArray + 4) = 0x5678;

*(unsigned int *)(uiDataArray + 8) = 0xacbd;

 

then you can associate the elf generated in SDK in Vivado and simulate the design.

 

Best Regards,
Srikanth
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Kindly note- Please mark the Answer as "Accept as solution" if information provided is helpful.

Give Kudos to a post which you think is helpful and reply oriented.

0 Kudos