cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Highlighted
Explorer
Explorer
696 Views
Registered: ‎05-23-2017

SDACCEL keeps reporting "Block-level synthesis in progress, 63 of 64 jobs complete, 1 job running"

I am running sdaccel targeting hardware run.

The software emulation and hardware emulation goes well.

In the compilation for the hw, the sdaccel keeps reporting "Block-level synthesis in progress, 63 of 64 jobs complete, 1 job running."

This has last for more than 10 hours.

[14:03:57] Block-level synthesis in progress, 63 of 64 jobs complete, 1 job running.
[14:05:00] Block-level synthesis in progress, 63 of 64 jobs complete, 1 job running.
[14:06:04] Block-level synthesis in progress, 63 of 64 jobs complete, 1 job running.
[14:07:07] Block-level synthesis in progress, 63 of 64 jobs complete, 1 job running.
[14:08:11] Block-level synthesis in progress, 63 of 64 jobs complete, 1 job running.
[14:09:14] Block-level synthesis in progress, 63 of 64 jobs complete, 1 job running.
[14:10:18] Block-level synthesis in progress, 63 of 64 jobs complete, 1 job running.
[14:11:22] Block-level synthesis in progress, 63 of 64 jobs complete, 1 job running.
[14:12:25] Block-level synthesis in progress, 63 of 64 jobs complete, 1 job running.
[14:13:29] Block-level synthesis in progress, 63 of 64 jobs complete, 1 job running.
[14:14:32] Block-level synthesis in progress, 63 of 64 jobs complete, 1 job running.
[14:15:36] Block-level synthesis in progress, 63 of 64 jobs complete, 1 job running.
[14:16:39] Block-level synthesis in progress, 63 of 64 jobs complete, 1 job running.
[14:17:43] Block-level synthesis in progress, 63 of 64 jobs complete, 1 job running.
[14:18:46] Block-level synthesis in progress, 63 of 64 jobs complete, 1 job running.
[14:19:50] Block-level synthesis in progress, 63 of 64 jobs complete, 1 job running.
[14:20:53] Block-level synthesis in progress, 63 of 64 jobs complete, 1 job running.
[14:21:57] Block-level synthesis in progress, 63 of 64 jobs complete, 1 job running.
[14:23:01] Block-level synthesis in progress, 63 of 64 jobs complete, 1 job running.
[14:24:05] Block-level synthesis in progress, 63 of 64 jobs complete, 1 job running.
[14:25:08] Block-level synthesis in progress, 63 of 64 jobs complete, 1 job running.
[14:26:12] Block-level synthesis in progress, 63 of 64 jobs complete, 1 job running.
[14:27:15] Block-level synthesis in progress, 63 of 64 jobs complete, 1 job running.
[14:28:19] Block-level synthesis in progress, 63 of 64 jobs complete, 1 job running.
[14:29:22] Block-level synthesis in progress, 63 of 64 jobs complete, 1 job running.
[14:30:26] Block-level synthesis in progress, 63 of 64 jobs complete, 1 job running.
[14:31:29] Block-level synthesis in progress, 63 of 64 jobs complete, 1 job running.
[14:32:33] Block-level synthesis in progress, 63 of 64 jobs complete, 1 job running.
[14:33:36] Block-level synthesis in progress, 63 of 64 jobs complete, 1 job running.
[14:34:40] Block-level synthesis in progress, 63 of 64 jobs complete, 1 job running.
[14:35:43] Block-level synthesis in progress, 63 of 64 jobs complete, 1 job running.
[14:36:46] Block-level synthesis in progress, 63 of 64 jobs complete, 1 job running.
[14:37:50] Block-level synthesis in progress, 63 of 64 jobs complete, 1 job running.
[14:38:53] Block-level synthesis in progress, 63 of 64 jobs complete, 1 job running.
[14:39:57] Block-level synthesis in progress, 63 of 64 jobs complete, 1 job running.
[14:41:00] Block-level synthesis in progress, 63 of 64 jobs complete, 1 job running.

 

I suspect the issue may caused by the overusing of the resource.

Resource utilizaiton of the kernle got from the estimate report is here:

Area Information
Compute Unit  Kernel Name  Module Name               FF      LUT     DSP  BRAM
------------  -----------  ------------------------  ------  ------  ---  ----
pcaf_fpga_1   pcaf_fpga    read_query_pca            5104    10905   0    1
pcaf_fpga_1   pcaf_fpga    read_query_or             3573    9197    0    0
pcaf_fpga_1   pcaf_fpga    d_copy_g2oc_queries       8683    20330   0    1
pcaf_fpga_1   pcaf_fpga    query_cop_g2oc            8721    20477   0    1
pcaf_fpga_1   pcaf_fpga    filtering_entry18         3       64      0    0
pcaf_fpga_1   pcaf_fpga    filtering_entry1330       2       64      0    0
pcaf_fpga_1   pcaf_fpga    filtering_Block_proc      150     152     0    0
pcaf_fpga_1   pcaf_fpga    read_feature_pca          5984    10926   0    0
pcaf_fpga_1   pcaf_fpga    d_copy_g2oc_pca_features  6078    11149   0    0
pcaf_fpga_1   pcaf_fpga    filtering_Block_proc1327  162     161     0    0
pcaf_fpga_1   pcaf_fpga    dist_calc_PCA             945     578     16   0
pcaf_fpga_1   pcaf_fpga    read_feature_or           263594  524378  0    0
pcaf_fpga_1   pcaf_fpga    dist_calc_or1             55205   24525   960  0
pcaf_fpga_1   pcaf_fpga    dist_calc_or2             2880    16506   0    0
pcaf_fpga_1   pcaf_fpga    dist_calc_or3             176     1069    0    0
pcaf_fpga_1   pcaf_fpga    dist_calc_or              59227   42145   960  0
pcaf_fpga_1   pcaf_fpga    k_max                     113     312     0    0
pcaf_fpga_1   pcaf_fpga    dist_calc_pcaf            338767  578816  976  6
pcaf_fpga_1   pcaf_fpga    filter_sum                37      78      0    0
pcaf_fpga_1   pcaf_fpga    filtering                 345992  592810  976  24
pcaf_fpga_1   pcaf_fpga    d_copy_oc2g               1316    1609    0    0
pcaf_fpga_1   pcaf_fpga    pcaf_fpga                 359432  618648  976  34

This is the resource for the FPGA I am using, i.e., VCU1525 board.323232.JPG

From the report, I can see the LUT account for the biggest proportion around 50%.

This is for the whole chip. But the static area on the DSA still consume some FPGA logic. 

1. I want to know what is the logic resource VCU1525 provided for the user excluding the static area.

2. What's the other possible resaons for this problem?

 

 

0 Kudos
3 Replies
Highlighted
Moderator
Moderator
647 Views
Registered: ‎11-04-2010

Hi, @mathmaxsean ,

Please try to find the Vivado synthesis report and check the detailed synthesis error message.

-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Don't forget to reply, kudo, and accept as solution.
-------------------------------------------------------------------------
0 Kudos
Highlighted
Explorer
Explorer
638 Views
Registered: ‎05-23-2017

@hongh

Thanks very much!

 

I tried to search this report under the _x folder. 

But there are lots of synthesis reports, could you let me know how can I find the right one?

 

Thanks.

0 Kudos
Highlighted
Moderator
Moderator
615 Views
Registered: ‎11-04-2010

Hi, @mathmaxsean ,

It seems that the issue is not casued by utilization, it's an OOC synthesis issue for a submodule.

The platform(VU1525) utilization is attached.

Can you open the Vivado project in SDx? (Xilinx -> Vivado Integration -> Open Vivado project).

 If the project has been created, we can see which module fails in synthsis.

 

-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Don't forget to reply, kudo, and accept as solution.
-------------------------------------------------------------------------
util2.png
0 Kudos