UPGRADE YOUR BROWSER

We have detected your current browser version is not the latest one. Xilinx.com uses the latest web technologies to bring you the best online experience possible. Please upgrade to a Xilinx.com supported browser:Chrome, Firefox, Internet Explorer 11, Safari. Thank you!

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Visitor joao_banana
Visitor

BCDR

Hello, 

I'm a masters student and doing some work related to NGPON-2 for my thesis. I'm using a Kintex Ultrascale 105 - part: K040-ffva1156-2e. So far, the current project consists on feeding information through an MGT (Tx: 32bits at 10G  and Rx: 32b at 10G with no coding(ie. Raw))  looping it into the board and detecting those frames with the same block that sent them.

In order to implement correctly burst mode operation, I understand that I need to use the BCDR blocks. I have looked into XAPP1252,XAPP1277 and XAPP1083 but I still dont get some details:

1- Is it possible to create the described design? Is something missing? 

2 - What are the differences between the independent BCDR block(from XAPP1277) and the BCDR-QuickLock-Circuit(from XAPP1252) ? 

3 - On the BCDR block: am I limited to the two cases: 80bits In and 32Bits Out or 32bits In and 8bits Out

4 - This output of BCDR block, is always smaller than the input. But does it actually mean or show? A fragment of the input frame or something else? Because on the refference design it is connected directly to the pattern checker. And so the ouput named DV_OUT means that DT_OUT is valid, but valid in which way? 

Thank you for your time and I hope I made my questions clear to you.
Kindest Regards, 

Joao.

0 Kudos
2 Replies
Highlighted
Xilinx Employee
Xilinx Employee

Re: BCDR

hello Joao,

the two applications, XAPP1277 and XAPP1252 are completely different.