UPGRADE YOUR BROWSER

We have detected your current browser version is not the latest one. Xilinx.com uses the latest web technologies to bring you the best online experience possible. Please upgrade to a Xilinx.com supported browser:Chrome, Firefox, Internet Explorer 11, Safari. Thank you!

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Highlighted
Adventurer
Adventurer
1,290 Views
Registered: ‎06-27-2016

Dynamic data rate switching for the same gty quad.

Jump to solution

Hi,
I'm trying to use a gty quad to switch between to data rate 6.25 and 3.125 Gbps with gtref clock 156.25Mhz.

Is it possible?

Possible with single gtrefclock of 156.25Mhz?  

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
Community Manager
Community Manager
1,239 Views
Registered: ‎08-30-2011

回复: Dynamic data rate switching for the same gty quad.

Jump to solution

Hi @yogesh_tripathi

 

if output divider is the only difference, you can also use tx/rxrate port to initiate a rate change.

You can find detail information in GTY user guide UG578 and search with key word txrate or rxrate. You won't miss it.

This would be easier than a drp register access. 

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Don’t forget to reply, kudo, and accept as solution.
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
如果提供的信息能解决您的问题,请标记为“接受为解决方案”。
如果您认为帖子有帮助,请点击“奖励”。谢谢!
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

View solution in original post

6 Replies
Community Manager
Community Manager
1,269 Views
Registered: ‎08-30-2011

回复: Dynamic data rate switching for the same gty quad.

Jump to solution

@yogesh_tripathi

 

That's completely possible. 

3.125Gbps is just half of 6.25. So it may only need you to change the output divider. for tx, it's txout_div. For rx, it's rxout_div.

The best way is to generate the wrappers from serdes wizard with the desired line rate and then compare all the attributes for differences. After knowing all the differences, you can then write the corresponding values through DRP registers.

 

 

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Don’t forget to reply, kudo, and accept as solution.
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
如果提供的信息能解决您的问题,请标记为“接受为解决方案”。
如果您认为帖子有帮助,请点击“奖励”。谢谢!
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
0 Kudos
Adventurer
Adventurer
1,261 Views
Registered: ‎06-27-2016

回复: Dynamic data rate switching for the same gty quad.

Jump to solution

hi @zhendon,

Got your point. Just want to confirm that setting drp reg <TX_OUT_DIV> from 1 to 2 will do?

 

GT wizard is first configured as :

1> four channel tx @6.25Gbps with ref clock 156.25Mhz.

2> 8b/10b enabled. 40bit internal width.

Ip gives usrclk1/2 as same 156.25 for 6.25Gbps

 

while for 

1> four channel tx @3.125Gbps with ref clock 156.25Mhz.

2> 8b/10b enabled. 40bit internal width.

Ip gives usrclk1/2 as same 78.125 for  3.125Gbps.

0 Kudos
Adventurer
Adventurer
1,247 Views
Registered: ‎06-27-2016

回复: Dynamic data rate switching for the same gty quad.

Jump to solution
compared drp reg value for both data rate in example design.
tx_out = 0 for 6.25Gbps
and tx_out = 1 for 3.125.
0 Kudos
Community Manager
Community Manager
1,240 Views
Registered: ‎08-30-2011

回复: Dynamic data rate switching for the same gty quad.

Jump to solution

Hi @yogesh_tripathi

 

if output divider is the only difference, you can also use tx/rxrate port to initiate a rate change.

You can find detail information in GTY user guide UG578 and search with key word txrate or rxrate. You won't miss it.

This would be easier than a drp register access. 

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Don’t forget to reply, kudo, and accept as solution.
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
如果提供的信息能解决您的问题,请标记为“接受为解决方案”。
如果您认为帖子有帮助,请点击“奖励”。谢谢!
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

View solution in original post

Adventurer
Adventurer
1,227 Views
Registered: ‎06-27-2016

回复: Dynamic data rate switching for the same gty quad.

Jump to solution
txrate port works.
Thank-you for your expertise.
0 Kudos
Adventurer
Adventurer
1,106 Views
Registered: ‎06-27-2016

回复: Dynamic data rate switching for the same gty quad.

Jump to solution

Hi @zhendon,

Everything was fine with dynamic data rate switching between 6.25Gbps/3.125Gbps using Txrate port.

Instantiated GTY ip for 6.25Gbps line rate and set the txrate(2:0) = 001 for 6.25Gbps (usrclock2 =156.25Mhz) and  txrate(2:0) = 010 for 3.125Gbps(usrclock2= 78.125Mhz).

But when tried for 1.25Gbps with txrate(2:0) = 001, usrclk2 port gives 125Mhz clock.

According to eq3-1 of ug578 , txusrclock rate =linerate/internal datapath width.

for my case 1250/40 i.e 31.25.

On generating example design for same ip configuration found that txrate port is assigned "ZZZ".

and usrclock2 was also right i.e 31.25.

Are there any other attributes need to be take care of which can clear this doubt.

0 Kudos