cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Adventurer
Adventurer
1,682 Views
Registered: ‎06-27-2016

Dynamic data rate switching for the same gty quad.

Jump to solution

Hi,
I'm trying to use a gty quad to switch between to data rate 6.25 and 3.125 Gbps with gtref clock 156.25Mhz.

Is it possible?

Possible with single gtrefclock of 156.25Mhz?  

0 Kudos
Reply
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
Community Manager
Community Manager
1,631 Views
Registered: ‎08-30-2011

Hi @yogesh_tripathi

 

if output divider is the only difference, you can also use tx/rxrate port to initiate a rate change.

You can find detail information in GTY user guide UG578 and search with key word txrate or rxrate. You won't miss it.

This would be easier than a drp register access. 

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Don’t forget to reply, kudo, and accept as solution.
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
如果提供的信息能解决您的问题,请标记为“接受为解决方案”。
如果您认为帖子有帮助,请点击“奖励”。谢谢!
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

View solution in original post

6 Replies
Community Manager
Community Manager
1,661 Views
Registered: ‎08-30-2011

@yogesh_tripathi

 

That's completely possible. 

3.125Gbps is just half of 6.25. So it may only need you to change the output divider. for tx, it's txout_div. For rx, it's rxout_div.

The best way is to generate the wrappers from serdes wizard with the desired line rate and then compare all the attributes for differences. After knowing all the differences, you can then write the corresponding values through DRP registers.

 

 

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Don’t forget to reply, kudo, and accept as solution.
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
如果提供的信息能解决您的问题,请标记为“接受为解决方案”。
如果您认为帖子有帮助,请点击“奖励”。谢谢!
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
0 Kudos
Reply
Adventurer
Adventurer
1,653 Views
Registered: ‎06-27-2016

hi @zhendon,

Got your point. Just want to confirm that setting drp reg <TX_OUT_DIV> from 1 to 2 will do?

 

GT wizard is first configured as :

1> four channel tx @6.25Gbps with ref clock 156.25Mhz.

2> 8b/10b enabled. 40bit internal width.

Ip gives usrclk1/2 as same 156.25 for 6.25Gbps

 

while for 

1> four channel tx @3.125Gbps with ref clock 156.25Mhz.

2> 8b/10b enabled. 40bit internal width.

Ip gives usrclk1/2 as same 78.125 for  3.125Gbps.

0 Kudos
Reply
Adventurer
Adventurer
1,639 Views
Registered: ‎06-27-2016
compared drp reg value for both data rate in example design.
tx_out = 0 for 6.25Gbps
and tx_out = 1 for 3.125.
0 Kudos
Reply
Community Manager
Community Manager
1,632 Views
Registered: ‎08-30-2011

Hi @yogesh_tripathi

 

if output divider is the only difference, you can also use tx/rxrate port to initiate a rate change.

You can find detail information in GTY user guide UG578 and search with key word txrate or rxrate. You won't miss it.

This would be easier than a drp register access. 

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Don’t forget to reply, kudo, and accept as solution.
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
如果提供的信息能解决您的问题,请标记为“接受为解决方案”。
如果您认为帖子有帮助,请点击“奖励”。谢谢!
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

View solution in original post

Adventurer
Adventurer
1,619 Views
Registered: ‎06-27-2016
txrate port works.
Thank-you for your expertise.
0 Kudos
Reply
Adventurer
Adventurer
1,498 Views
Registered: ‎06-27-2016

Hi @zhendon,

Everything was fine with dynamic data rate switching between 6.25Gbps/3.125Gbps using Txrate port.

Instantiated GTY ip for 6.25Gbps line rate and set the txrate(2:0) = 001 for 6.25Gbps (usrclock2 =156.25Mhz) and  txrate(2:0) = 010 for 3.125Gbps(usrclock2= 78.125Mhz).

But when tried for 1.25Gbps with txrate(2:0) = 001, usrclk2 port gives 125Mhz clock.

According to eq3-1 of ug578 , txusrclock rate =linerate/internal datapath width.

for my case 1250/40 i.e 31.25.

On generating example design for same ip configuration found that txrate port is assigned "ZZZ".

and usrclock2 was also right i.e 31.25.

Are there any other attributes need to be take care of which can clear this doubt.

0 Kudos
Reply