Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Highlighted
Observer
Observer

Eye Mask with GT-Debuuger and IBERT

Jump to solution

Hello there,

I am a newbie, working on to plot eyemask for my design with Zynq Ultrascale+.

My requirement is to check link quality and margin for xdma in design, I am following XAPP1295 and added some debug ports into my .dcp file, with debug clk from the design. I have also added following ports::

- GTTXRESET

-GTRXREST

-EYESCANRESET

-EYESCANTRIGGER

-

I am able to scan all four channels using GUI (IBERT), as per xapp1295 to use eye-qualify.tcl 

gives a message in vivado tcl console: link might be closed.

In GUI, I get eye diagram open as nearly 30 % of UI.

Here are the steps I am following:

- source ./insert_gt_dbg/insert_gt_dbg_hwproc.tcl

source ./insert_gt_dbg/igd_eyescan.tcl

following this, I reset GTs as without this scan hangs.

igd_eyescan init cX0Y12 res_sig_prefix=igd_gpio_cX0Y12_GTTXRESET, (to all channels) then I get the eyemask but with 2 or 3 codes showing up (eye is not normal).

is this  method correct? 

Specifications:

LVDS standard, GTH Serial transceivers

Here are the attatchments, please find it.

Thanks in advance

IMG_20200928_212604.png
0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
Highlighted
Observer
Observer

Hello,

Even after enabling PMA loopback did not solve the 'link closure' issue.
Here, I have found a possible solution, saying XAPPs won't work for Ultrascale devices. (Although, the xapp document clearly does not mention)
https://forums.xilinx.com/t5/Serial-Transceivers/Eye-Scan-on-GTH-on-VCU108-under-MicroBlaze-Control/m-p/1036472

- Another, matching explanation I got from ug576, RX margin analysis

''At high line rates, the received eye measured on the printed circuit
board can appear to be completely closed even though the internal eye after the receiver equalizer is open. " (possibly, this could be the reason of closed link).