UPGRADE YOUR BROWSER

We have detected your current browser version is not the latest one. Xilinx.com uses the latest web technologies to bring you the best online experience possible. Please upgrade to a Xilinx.com supported browser:Chrome, Firefox, Internet Explorer 11, Safari. Thank you!

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Visitor dermydermy
Visitor

Inconsistent rx data when using transceiver example design

I am using Vivado 2015.3.  I am a student trying to send 4b5b encoded data at 10Gbs.  I am using a custom flag in the data to find alignment.  The problem i am having is that the received data is most of the time being corrupted.  Below is what i expect the output to look like, which i seldom get.  correct.JPG

What i am seeing most often is a consistent but incorrect data like below.incorrect.JPG

Other times i get a kind of rolling corruption where the data is correct for a while then becomes corrupt and repeats like below.

rolling.JPG

I am not sure what i am doing wrong or if i missed a setting or variable somewhere.  I attached a few of the files from the design.  Any help would be greatly appreciated.

0 Kudos
3 Replies

Re: Inconsistent rx data when using transceiver example design

4B5B is the same as 8B10B. If your comma alignment character is wide enough (2characters) you can use the built in comma alignment. You can use the built in 8B10B encoder for that matter and the GT wizard will build a working design for you. "Rolling corruption" often means that the RX clocks are not synchronized to the data. This can happen if you start the RX reset before there is RX input data or doing a "reset all" in a loopback set up. How are you doing alignment? Are you doing rxslide pulses? What transceiver is this.
Roy

----------------------------------------------------------------------------
Don't forget to reply, kudo, and accept as solution
----------------------------------------------------------------------------