cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Highlighted
Explorer
Explorer
524 Views
Registered: ‎04-06-2017

PRBS for GTX of kintex-7 FPGA

Jump to solution

In the GTX IP configuration, I can choose to use the PRBS generator and checker. But I do not know how to send PRBS from TX port and received through RX port.

In my board TX and RX of the same channel are connected on board in AC coupled way. I create the example project by right clicking the GTX IP and choose open example project. There is PRBS selection port in the IP. My experiment shows if I select PRBS to PRBS-31 or other. The IP does not send the  PRBS data to the TX port. It still accept data sending to the txdata_in port. And I can verified that by the received data from RX port (after unscrambling). How to make TX send PRBS? I also wondering why the PRBS always exists in the ports list of the wrapped GTX IP, no matter I choose to use the PRBS generator and checker or not.

Thank you

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
Highlighted
Moderator
Moderator
502 Views
Registered: ‎07-30-2007

I would suggest simulating the example design and looking into the design schmatic to make sure the prbs selection bits are making it all the way to the GT*_CHANNEL.  If the bits are selected it should affect the output.  There may be an exception if you are using the GEARBOX in your design. Is this the case?

 




----------------------------------------------------------------------------
Don't forget to reply, kudo, and accept as solution
----------------------------------------------------------------------------


View solution in original post

0 Kudos
5 Replies
Highlighted
Moderator
Moderator
503 Views
Registered: ‎07-30-2007

I would suggest simulating the example design and looking into the design schmatic to make sure the prbs selection bits are making it all the way to the GT*_CHANNEL.  If the bits are selected it should affect the output.  There may be an exception if you are using the GEARBOX in your design. Is this the case?

 




----------------------------------------------------------------------------
Don't forget to reply, kudo, and accept as solution
----------------------------------------------------------------------------


View solution in original post

0 Kudos
Highlighted
Explorer
Explorer
480 Views
Registered: ‎04-06-2017

I am indeed using gearbox, what does it cause?

0 Kudos
Highlighted
Explorer
Explorer
465 Views
Registered: ‎04-06-2017
I have verified by checking schematic and chipscope that selection bits are making it all the way to the GT*_CHANNEL.
0 Kudos
Highlighted
Moderator
Moderator
446 Views
Registered: ‎07-30-2007

Please attach the *.xci file for your design and I can take a look.




----------------------------------------------------------------------------
Don't forget to reply, kudo, and accept as solution
----------------------------------------------------------------------------


0 Kudos
Highlighted
Explorer
Explorer
435 Views
Registered: ‎04-06-2017

I have verified the problem occurs because of I only set the selection bit of rx, not tx.

0 Kudos