Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
gskumar
Contributor
Contributor

Regarding GT Debugger

Jump to solution

Hi,

For transceiver link tuning, which tool I should use - IBERT or GT Debugger (as explained in XAPP1322)?

I have used IBERT tool. But I am new to GT Debugger tool. 

I'm using GTH transceiver in one my design and I would like to tune the transceiver to get the highest RX margin.

What is the advantage of  uisng GT Debugger tool over IBERT tool? Can somebody give some idea on this?

thanks,

sunil

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
csattar

hi @gskumar ,

The LogiCORE IP  Integrated Bit Error Ratio Tester (IBERT) core is designed for evaluating and monitoring transceivers. This core includes pattern generators and checkers that are implemented in FPGA logic, as well as access to ports and the dynamic reconfiguration port attributes of the GTH transceivers. Communication logic is also included to allow the design to be run-time accessible through JTAG. IBERT eye scan provides a picture of the serial signal error distribution. How can you determine whether the quality of the signal is good or bad? How can you judge from the eye scan if the signal has enough margin? This Long Form Answer Record helps to build a new tool dedicated to automatic eye qualification, combining IBERT with the GT_DEBUGGER (XAPP1322 )

Regards
Chandra sekhar
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Kindly note- Please mark the Answer as "Accept as solution" if solution provided is helpful.

Give Kudos to a post which you think is helpful and reply oriented.
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

View solution in original post

6 Replies
csattar

hi @gskumar ,