cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
ndnsoulja
Participant
Participant

Vcu118 have any example?

Hi I have a vcu118 that I’m planning to use for my design. I have an SBC connected via PCIe. I plan to use the DMA for PCIe IP core to between the SBC and the vcu118. The data from dma registers need to be transmitted to other FPGAs that are connected via rocket io ( is aurora 64b the same thing?) 

is there any example that’s provided for something similar for this board? Or would this be doable without any vhdl code to route the data directly from dma to rocketio? Like using Axi interconnect to connect the IPs together? 

Pardon my ignorance I’m new to the FPGA to FPGA data transfers. 

0 Kudos
4 Replies
borisq
Xilinx Employee
Xilinx Employee

hi @ndnsoulja 

what does SBC stand for? is it based on x86 CPU?

we have XDMA IP based on PCIe and Serdes.

you can connected the XDMA IP to a DDR memory controller, so that you can transfer data from PC to FPGA card or vice verse. No need to do HDL. axi interconnect will handle the connections between XDMAs and DDR controllers. 

Below is an example that I created for VCU118.

Thanks,

Boris

------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Don't forget to reply, give kudo and accept as solution
vcu118.png
ndnsoulja
Participant
Participant

which ip is the xdma for serdes?
0 Kudos
borisq
Xilinx Employee
Xilinx Employee

hi @ndnsoulja 

the ip name is 'XDMA'.

It can be found in either IP calalog or block design. Serdes or GT is a part of the IP. 

here is the document.

https://www.xilinx.com/support/documentation/ip_documentation/xdma/v4_1/pg195-pcie-dma.pdf

Thanks,

Boris

Don't forget to reply, give kudo and accept as solution
ndnsoulja
Participant
Participant

hi @borisq