UPGRADE YOUR BROWSER

We have detected your current browser version is not the latest one. Xilinx.com uses the latest web technologies to bring you the best online experience possible. Please upgrade to a Xilinx.com supported browser:Chrome, Firefox, Internet Explorer 11, Safari. Thank you!

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Visitor cgonzo
Visitor
224 Views
Registered: ‎06-26-2018

Vivado Transciever Wizard not showing 16-bit datapath for VU9P

Jump to solution
Looking at AR#69011, the latency of a 16-bit datapath is about half that of a 32-bit datapath for GTY transcievers. However, when I open the transciever wizard (both for Vivado 2018.3 and 2019.1), there is no option for a 16-bit datapath. Is this not supported?
0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
Scholar drjohnsmith
Scholar
213 Views
Registered: ‎07-09-2009

Re: Vivado Transciever Wizard not showing 16-bit datapath for VU9P

Jump to solution

its a question of how fast the fpga can get data into / out of the GTY.

 

If you have a line rate of say 10 Gb/s , then the clock rate for a 16 bit interface is to much for the FPGA,

      so the minimum is a 32 bit user interface.

 

If you were to drop the GTY line rate down to say 3 Gb/s , then you have the option of a 16 bit interface.

 

Please give Kudos if this was useful and close if it aswers your question.

 

 

<== If this was helpful, please feel free to give Kudos, and close if it answers your question ==>

View solution in original post

4 Replies
Scholar drjohnsmith
Scholar
214 Views
Registered: ‎07-09-2009

Re: Vivado Transciever Wizard not showing 16-bit datapath for VU9P

Jump to solution

its a question of how fast the fpga can get data into / out of the GTY.

 

If you have a line rate of say 10 Gb/s , then the clock rate for a 16 bit interface is to much for the FPGA,

      so the minimum is a 32 bit user interface.

 

If you were to drop the GTY line rate down to say 3 Gb/s , then you have the option of a 16 bit interface.

 

Please give Kudos if this was useful and close if it aswers your question.

 

 

<== If this was helpful, please feel free to give Kudos, and close if it answers your question ==>

View solution in original post

Visitor cgonzo
Visitor
210 Views
Registered: ‎06-26-2018

Re: Vivado Transciever Wizard not showing 16-bit datapath for VU9P

Jump to solution
Makes sense. Just curious-- is there a document that shows the maximum line rate for the different widths?
0 Kudos
Scholar drjohnsmith
Scholar
205 Views
Registered: ‎07-09-2009

Re: Vivado Transciever Wizard not showing 16-bit datapath for VU9P

Jump to solution

Sorry , dont know of said doc, Im certain its 'just' an equation,

but I'm lazy,

   I just tend to run the tool, it does all the nice calculatoins !!

<== If this was helpful, please feel free to give Kudos, and close if it answers your question ==>
0 Kudos
Xilinx Employee
Xilinx Employee
195 Views
Registered: ‎10-19-2011

Re: Vivado Transciever Wizard not showing 16-bit datapath for VU9P

Jump to solution

Hi @cgonzo ,

have a look at the datasheet for the maximum user clock frequency for the transceiver. It is listed for the different data width. Then multiply the two.

------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Don't forget to reply, give kudo and accept as solution
------------------------------------------------------------------------------
0 Kudos