UPGRADE YOUR BROWSER

We have detected your current browser version is not the latest one. Xilinx.com uses the latest web technologies to bring you the best online experience possible. Please upgrade to a Xilinx.com supported browser:Chrome, Firefox, Internet Explorer 11, Safari. Thank you!

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Visitor wzy96321
Visitor
369 Views
Registered: ‎08-31-2018

ZC706 PL receive data from PC

Jump to solution

Hi,

    I find the Uart and Etherenet PHY only in PS.So Is there any other way to receive  data from PC to PL? IF no,can the J63 ( the XADC  header)or other interface external a uart to USB circuit toachieve it?

                                                                                                                                                                             Regards,

J63.png

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
Explorer
Explorer
217 Views
Registered: ‎04-19-2018

Re: ZC706 PL receive data from PC

Jump to solution

 

For small amounts of data I wouldn't take the burden of Ethernet.

Microblaze is not exactly PS, it resides in the PL. It requires software, yes, but I think you can't get away without that. If you are brave enough, you could try some HDL, but I think you'd end up doing the same but from scratch. 

View solution in original post

5 Replies
Explorer
Explorer
349 Views
Registered: ‎04-19-2018

Re: ZC706 PL receive data from PC

Jump to solution

you can have an Ethernet IP on the PL but I don't think it's practical. If I had to use Ethernet I would use the one in the PS and DMA data to the PL as needed.

Alternatively, you can have a Microblaze and a UART interface. Much lighter. It all depends in the amount of data and complexity of the link.

0 Kudos
Visitor wzy96321
Visitor
341 Views
Registered: ‎08-31-2018

Re: ZC706 PL receive data from PC

Jump to solution
The amount of data is little , Use Microblaze ,mean have to use PS,it can't transmit data between ZC706 board and PC by PL(use verilog code to achieve it) only?
0 Kudos
Visitor wzy96321
Visitor
336 Views
Registered: ‎08-31-2018

Re: ZC706 PL receive data from PC

Jump to solution
The amount of data is little , Use Microblaze ,mean have to use PS,it can't transmit data between ZC706 board and PC by PL(use verilog code to achieve it) only?
0 Kudos
Explorer
Explorer
218 Views
Registered: ‎04-19-2018

Re: ZC706 PL receive data from PC

Jump to solution

 

For small amounts of data I wouldn't take the burden of Ethernet.

Microblaze is not exactly PS, it resides in the PL. It requires software, yes, but I think you can't get away without that. If you are brave enough, you could try some HDL, but I think you'd end up doing the same but from scratch. 

View solution in original post

Visitor wzy96321
Visitor
141 Views
Registered: ‎08-31-2018

Re: ZC706 PL receive data from PC

Jump to solution

Thanks,looks like it's going to have to be done PS+PL.

0 Kudos