UPGRADE YOUR BROWSER

We have detected your current browser version is not the latest one. Xilinx.com uses the latest web technologies to bring you the best online experience possible. Please upgrade to a Xilinx.com supported browser:Chrome, Firefox, Internet Explorer 11, Safari. Thank you!

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Observer ramp69
Observer
3,246 Views
Registered: ‎03-14-2017

ERROR: [Simulator 45-1] A fatal run-time error was detected. Simulation cannot continue.

I am simulating a design in 2016.4 and am getting the error

 

 

ERROR: [Simulator 45-1] A fatal run-time error was detected. Simulation cannot continue.

 

How can the tool  point me to the file name and line number of the error. 

 

0 Kudos
5 Replies
Moderator
Moderator
3,237 Views
Registered: ‎09-15-2016

Re: ERROR: [Simulator 45-1] A fatal run-time error was detected. Simulation cannot continue.

Hi @ramp69,

 

Can you please check if there are any errors or warnings.

Please share the test case this will help us to reproduce this issue at our end and investigate further.

Can you try with latest version of Vivado 2017.4 and see if it helps.

 

Thanks & Regards,

Sravanthi B

Thanks & Regards,
Sravanthi B
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Kindly note- Please mark the Answer as "Accept as solution" if information provided is helpful.

Give Kudos to a post which you think is helpful and reply oriented.
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
0 Kudos
Observer ramp69
Observer
3,201 Views
Registered: ‎03-14-2017

Re: ERROR: [Simulator 45-1] A fatal run-time error was detected. Simulation cannot continue.

 

Hello, 

 

After playing with the tool, I am able to extract this message. Where do I insert this switch -maxdeltaid?

 

FATAL_ERROR: Iteration limit 10000 is reached. Possible zero delay oscillation detected where simulation time can not advance. Please check your source code. Note that the iteration limit can be changed using switch -maxdeltaid.
Time: 780 ns Iteration: 10000

0 Kudos
Moderator
Moderator
3,195 Views
Registered: ‎09-15-2016

Re: ERROR: [Simulator 45-1] A fatal run-time error was detected. Simulation cannot continue.

Hi @ramp69,

 

Try checking if any process or loop is stuck/unlimited and causing this problem.

 

Regards,
Prathik
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Please mark the appropriate post as an answer "Accept as solution" in case it helps to resolve your query.
Give Kudos to a post which you think is helpful and reply oriented.
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

0 Kudos
Highlighted
Observer ramp69
Observer
3,164 Views
Registered: ‎03-14-2017

Re: ERROR: [Simulator 45-1] A fatal run-time error was detected. Simulation cannot continue.

 

Please find source file and testbench for a simple RAM wrapper code. 

Data comes in via 8-bit bus and goes into the RAM. 

 

1. The very first byte is 0x3a, followed by 0x39 0x52, 0x23. -- THIS IS from the REAL simulation. The attached testbench 

does not have this behavior. It behaves weirdly for some reason I could not understand. 

 

2. DataIn to the RAM and WE are correct.

 

3. RamDataO (top signal in the attached waveform) is output.  This is not correct.

 

As you can see the very first byte is missing. (0x3a is missing). 

 

Can you find out what's happening in the RAM. 

 

These are the two RAM models its using.

 

/src/retarget/RAMB16BWER.v

src/unisims/RAMB36E1.v 

 

 

Screenshot from 2018-03-03 23:23:50.png
0 Kudos
Scholar richardhead
Scholar
3,147 Views
Registered: ‎08-01-2012

Re: ERROR: [Simulator 45-1] A fatal run-time error was detected. Simulation cannot continue.

You didnt attach any code. Can you attach?

 

Interation limits like this occur in simulation because something is locked in an infinite loop. Assuming you havent got some infinite loop in the testbench, have you created a logic loop inadvertently in your design?

0 Kudos