UPGRADE YOUR BROWSER

We have detected your current browser version is not the latest one. Xilinx.com uses the latest web technologies to bring you the best online experience possible. Please upgrade to a Xilinx.com supported browser:Chrome, Firefox, Internet Explorer 11, Safari. Thank you!

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Visitor yahoogary
Visitor
11,504 Views
Registered: ‎01-23-2011

How to deal with missing "libxil_vsim.dll" when run simulation under the XPS?

# vsim +notimingchecks -L xilinxcorelib_ver -L secureip -L unisims_ver -pli libxil_vsim.dll -t ps -novopt bfm_system_tb glbl
# Loading libxil_vsim.dll
# ** Error: (vsim-3193) Load of "libxil_vsim.dll" failed: File not found.
# ** Error: (vsim-PLI-3002) Failed to load PLI object file "libxil_vsim.dll".
#         Region: /
# Loading work.bfm_system_tb
# Loading work.bfm_system
# Loading work.bfm_processor_wrapper
# Loading cdn_axi4_master_bfm_wrap_v2_01_a.cdn_axi4_master_bfm_wrap
# Loading work.axi4_bus_wrapper
# Loading axi_interconnect_v1_04_a.axi_interconnect
# Loading axi_interconnect_v1_04_a.ict104_register_slice_bank
# Loading axi_interconnect_v1_04_a.ict104_protocol_conv_bank
# Loading axi_interconnect_v1_04_a.ict104_converter_bank
# Loading axi_interconnect_v1_04_a.ict104_data_fifo_bank
# Loading work.glbl
# Error loading design

0 Kudos
15 Replies
Xilinx Employee
Xilinx Employee
11,498 Views
Registered: ‎07-16-2008

Re: How to deal with missing "libxil_vsim.dll" when run simulation under the XPS?

Make sure XILINX env variable is set correctly.

For example, XILINX = C:\Xilinx\13.4\ISE_DS\ISE

-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Don't forget to reply, kudo, and accept as solution.
-------------------------------------------------------------------------
0 Kudos
Visitor yahoogary
Visitor
11,490 Views
Registered: ‎01-23-2011

Re: How to deal with missing "libxil_vsim.dll" when run simulation under the XPS?

I have set two system variables:

XILINX= C:\Xilinx\13.4\ISE_DS\ISE

XILINX_EDK= C:\Xilinx\13.4\ISE_DS\EDK\bin\nt64

 

But still has same same error message.

Is it because I also need setting something inside of modelsim.ini?

 

 

-----------------error message-----------------------------

# vsim +notimingchecks -L xilinxcorelib_ver -L secureip -L unisims_ver -pli libxil_vsim.dll -t ps -novopt bfm_system_tb glbl
# Loading libxil_vsim.dll
# ** Error: (vsim-3193) Load of "libxil_vsim.dll" failed: Bad DLL format.
# ** Error: (vsim-PLI-3002) Failed to load PLI object file "libxil_vsim.dll".
#         Region: /
# Loading work.bfm_system_tb
# Loading work.bfm_system
# Loading work.bfm_processor_wrapper
# Loading cdn_axi4_master_bfm_wrap_v2_01_a.cdn_axi4_master_bfm_wrap
# Loading work.axi4_bus_wrapper
# Loading axi_interconnect_v1_04_a.axi_interconnect
# Loading axi_interconnect_v1_04_a.ict104_register_slice_bank
# Loading axi_interconnect_v1_04_a.ict104_protocol_conv_bank
# Loading axi_interconnect_v1_04_a.ict104_converter_bank
# Loading axi_interconnect_v1_04_a.ict104_data_fifo_bank
# Loading work.glbl
# Error loading design
# 1

0 Kudos
Xilinx Employee
Xilinx Employee
11,483 Views
Registered: ‎07-16-2008

Re: How to deal with missing "libxil_vsim.dll" when run simulation under the XPS?

Does the "libxil_vsim.dll" exist in current directory?

 

Make sure the dll is not corrupt as the error indicates bad format.

OR, you can try pointing to the same dll file at $XILINX/lib/nt

-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Don't forget to reply, kudo, and accept as solution.
-------------------------------------------------------------------------
0 Kudos
Visitor yahoogary
Visitor
11,479 Views
Registered: ‎01-23-2011

Re: How to deal with missing "libxil_vsim.dll" when run simulation under the XPS?

thanks for your help, graces.

 

yes, I have copied " libxil_vsim.dll" to local project.

 

what is " libxil_vsim.dll"? is it related AXI BFM?

0 Kudos
Xilinx Employee
Xilinx Employee
11,473 Views
Registered: ‎07-16-2008

Re: How to deal with missing "libxil_vsim.dll" when run simulation under the XPS?

According to DS824, the dll is VPI library file that enables licensing.

-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Don't forget to reply, kudo, and accept as solution.
-------------------------------------------------------------------------
0 Kudos
Visitor yahoogary
Visitor
11,453 Views
Registered: ‎01-23-2011

Re: How to deal with missing "libxil_vsim.dll" when run simulation under the XPS?

Can anyone run DS824 example successfully? Thanks

0 Kudos
Newbie zaaylo
Newbie
11,443 Views
Registered: ‎03-05-2012

Re: How to deal with missing "libxil_vsim.dll" when run simulation under the XPS?

after copy of dll file (libxil_vsim.dll  ) to my local pc. its seems better is it need to replace this dll file or any requirnment to replace the dll ?


0 Kudos
Visitor arel
Visitor
11,342 Views
Registered: ‎12-22-2011

Re: How to deal with missing "libxil_vsim.dll" when run simulation under the XPS?

Does anybody solve this problem? It seems like "libxil_vsim.dll" is 32-bit and problem exist on 64-bit Win7 version only...
0 Kudos
Observer egger006
Observer
9,716 Views
Registered: ‎09-18-2013

Re: How to deal with missing "libxil_vsim.dll" when run simulation under the XPS?

Hi,

 

I'm sorry to warm up that "old" topic, but has anyone found a solution for this?

I also get these Errors:

 

# ** Error: (vsim-3193) Load of "./libxil_vsim.dll" failed: DLL dependent library not found.
# ** Error: (vsim-PLI-3002) Failed to load PLI object file "./libxil_vsim.dll".

 

I tried different versions (default 32 Bit and the 64 Bit version I found here: http://www.xilinx.com/support/answers/51972.htm ), no success.

 

Stefan

0 Kudos
Xilinx Employee
Xilinx Employee
5,220 Views
Registered: ‎07-16-2008

Re: How to deal with missing "libxil_vsim.dll" when run simulation under the XPS?

What version of Modelsim are you using? If you use 32-bit verson of Modelsim, please ensure you set up environment for 32-bit ISE toolset.

In windows, you can run settings32.bat in <ISE install directory>\ISE_DS.

-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Don't forget to reply, kudo, and accept as solution.
-------------------------------------------------------------------------
0 Kudos
Observer egger006
Observer
5,211 Views
Registered: ‎09-18-2013

Re: How to deal with missing "libxil_vsim.dll" when run simulation under the XPS?

I tried running settings32.bat, nothing changes.

Yes, I am using ModelSim 32-bit.

 

Any other suggestions?

0 Kudos
Xilinx Employee
Xilinx Employee
5,190 Views
Registered: ‎07-16-2008

Re: How to deal with missing "libxil_vsim.dll" when run simulation under the XPS?

Looking at the error message,

# ** Error: (vsim-3193) Load of "./libxil_vsim.dll" failed: DLL dependent library not found

 

it points to the current directory. See if the dll library is located at ./.

If not, you need to modify the script to point to the correct directory.

-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Don't forget to reply, kudo, and accept as solution.
-------------------------------------------------------------------------
0 Kudos
Participant simonpl
Participant
3,861 Views
Registered: ‎02-11-2015

Re: How to deal with missing "libxil_vsim.dll" when run simulation under the XPS?

I've got a problem with "missing" libxil_vsim.dll file. The file exists under "C:/Xilinx/Vivado/2014.2/lib/win32.o/libxil_vsim.dll", but TB_name.do script calls "C:/Xilinx/Vivado/2014.2/lib/.o/libxil_vsim.dll". Each time I launch simulation, new script is generated so I can't modify it manually. I don't have "clean simulation files" checked. I use Vivado 2014.2 on WinXP 32 bit. Any ideas?

0 Kudos
Xilinx Employee
Xilinx Employee
3,846 Views
Registered: ‎07-16-2008

Re: How to deal with missing "libxil_vsim.dll" when run simulation under the XPS?

You may try to enable generate script only option in Simulation Settings. Then run the script in standalone Modelsim.

-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Don't forget to reply, kudo, and accept as solution.
-------------------------------------------------------------------------
0 Kudos
Participant simonpl
Participant
3,839 Views
Registered: ‎02-11-2015

Re: How to deal with missing "libxil_vsim.dll" when run simulation under the XPS?

Thanks, this solution also works fine. Finally I created a folder named ".o" with the .dll file (but using cmd, because explorer cries when '.' goes as first).

0 Kudos