UPGRADE YOUR BROWSER

We have detected your current browser version is not the latest one. Xilinx.com uses the latest web technologies to bring you the best online experience possible. Please upgrade to a Xilinx.com supported browser:Chrome, Firefox, Internet Explorer 11, Safari. Thank you!

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Highlighted
Newbie engrforever

ISE 11.1 - Running simulations

I am new to the xilinx products and HDL designing. I have a working design that was tested earlier using only ModelSim. I downloaded the most recent ISE 11.1 to get a feel for it and am having issues.

1. I cannot seem to simulate my previously working design with the testbench. It looks like the only available simulator is ISIM and it is not allowing me to force values either.

2. My output pins are always showing up as "UUU..."

Please advice what my options are and what can I try?

0 Kudos
17 Replies
Xilinx Employee
Xilinx Employee

Re: ISE 11.1 - Running simulations

Hi,

We did not disable the capability to use ModelSim when you are in the project navigator environment. You should be able to accomplish exactly what you were doing in 10.1 and prior versions.

Can you clarify how you were forcing values? If it was using the force command in ModelSim, there is an equivalent command in ISim as well.

Please take a look at the ISim documentation that details how you can achieve this:

http://www.xilinx.com/support/documentation/sw_manuals/xilinx11/plugin_ism.pdf

isim force Command
The isim force command adds or removes a value on a signal. This command forces a value on the signal,
until isim force remove is issued. This command works only for VHDL signals and Verilog wire types. It
does not work for Verilog regs. The force command cannot be overridden by the stimulus from the design. The
force is valid until the simulation is restarted or until the isim force remove command is issued
Note This command is case sensitive.