UPGRADE YOUR BROWSER

We have detected your current browser version is not the latest one. Xilinx.com uses the latest web technologies to bring you the best online experience possible. Please upgrade to a Xilinx.com supported browser:Chrome, Firefox, Internet Explorer 11, Safari. Thank you!

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Visitor jutilc
Visitor

ISIM simply does not run

Hi,

I'm brand new to using ISE Design Suite as well as VHDL.   For my class, I have to simulate my code with the VHDL testbench.  I know how to make this file and have had TAs and classmates check to make sure I am doing it right.

When I attempt to "Simulate Behavioral Model," the console runs through all the contruction and what not.  At the end, it says:

"ISim simulation engine GUI launched successfully

Process "Simulate Behavioral Model" completed successfully"

But the window for ISIM does not open.

I have run this testbench on other computers and it works fine.  It just doesn't work on my machine. 

Any ideas why this is happening?  Could there be some program blocking it from opening?

I have unistalled and reinstalled 14.2. Solved nothing.

I am going to try installing 14.1, but am still skeptical.

I know of no one else in the class that is having this issue.

0 Kudos
15 Replies
Teacher rcingham
Teacher

Re: ISIM simply does not run

Does Task manager see it, even briefly?

Do you get any files such as 'fuse.log', 'isim.log'? If so, are there any messages that might give you a clue?

------------------------------------------
"If it don't work in simulation, it won't work on the board."
0 Kudos
Visitor jutilc
Visitor

i see a fuse.exe
nothing with a .log
this disappears from TM when done in console window(in ISE)

and i've looked through all the messages in the console window and no sign of errors
0 Kudos
Xilinx Employee
Xilinx Employee

Can you bring up the ISIM GUI from command line?

isimgui.exe