UPGRADE YOUR BROWSER

We have detected your current browser version is not the latest one. Xilinx.com uses the latest web technologies to bring you the best online experience possible. Please upgrade to a Xilinx.com supported browser:Chrome, Firefox, Internet Explorer 11, Safari. Thank you!

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Observer abet
Observer

Is VHDL supported for post-synth timing simulation in free HLS Web Pack? [Vivado 2018.3 - Ubuntu 18.04]

Hi to you all.

I'm new to vivado and I'm doing now my first timing oriented VHDL programming.

As I try to run a post-synthesis timing simulation in Vivado, I got a pop-up (see image) saying tha VHDL is not supported unless my simulator's (Xsim I guess) licence includes it. Now, I downloaded the plain Web Pack. Does this support timing?

Selection_132.png
0 Kudos
10 Replies
Scholar richardhead
Scholar

Re: Is VHDL supported for post-synth timing simulation in free HLS Web Pack? [Vivado 2018.3]

The warning is because some external tools require a separate (more expensive licence) for mixed language design.

Vivado will only output a timing netlist in verilog, so if you specify VHDL you are likely to have  VHDL testbench and therefore require a mixed language licence.

Vivado does support mixed language simulation.

0 Kudos
Xilinx Employee
Xilinx Employee

回复: Is VHDL supported for post-synth timing simulation in free HLS Web Pack? [Vivado 2018.3]

Xsim doesn't support timing simulation in VHDL. This has nothing to do with the WebPACK license.

Here's more information from UG900.

IMPORTANT: Timing simulation is supported in Verilog only; there is no VHDL version of the SIMPRIM library.
TIP: If you are a VHDL user, you can run post synthesis and post implementation functional simulation (in which case no standard default format (SDF) annotation is required and the simulation netlist uses the UNISIM library). You can create the netlist using the write_vhdl Tcl command.